Kanker Lok Sabha Constituency in Chhattisgarh Results 2019: BJP Candidate Mohan Mandavi Elected as MP
Kanker Lok Sabha election 2019 (Photo Credits: File Image)

Raipur, March 23: Mohan Mandavi of BJP won Kanker Lok Sabha seat in Chhattisgarh. Kanker Lok Sabha seat is one of the 11 parliamentary seats in the state of Chhattisgarh. Polling in Kanker Lok Sabha constituency was held on April 18 in the second phase of general elections. Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Vikram Dev Usendi is the current MP from Kanker. However, this time, the BJP denied him the ticket.

To retain Kanker Lok Sabha seat, the BJP fielded Mohan Mandavi who will be in an electoral fight against Congress candidate Biresh Thakur. The process of filing nomination for Kanker Lok Sabha election began on March 19. The last day for nominations was March 26. The scrutiny was done on March 27 and the last date for the withdrawal of the nominations was March 29. Check Full Schedule of Lok Sabha Elections 2019.

While the BJP registered a landslide victory in the 2014 Lok Sabah elections winning 10 out of 11 Lok Sabha seats in Chhattisgarh, the Congress returned to power in the state by winning assembly polls in 2018. Therefore, the two arch-rivals are in a neck-and-neck contest in the state. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule: How Staggered Polling Could Help BJP.

Lok Sabha election 2019 schedule for second phase:

Issue of Notification March 19
Last date for filing nomination March 26
Scrutiny of nomination March 27
Last date for withdrawal of candidature March 29
Date Of Poll April 18
Date of Result May 23

Watch schedule of second phase of polling in Lok Sabha election 2019:

Lok Sabha elections will begin on April 11 and will be held over seven phases across the country. On May 23, India will decide whether Prime Minister Narendra Modi wins a second term as leader of the world's largest democracy.