Karnataka And Maharashtra MLC Bypolls 2018: Complete Schedule of Bye-Elections Announced by Election Commission For 4 Seats
Counting of Votes (Image: PTI)

New Delhi, September 12: The Election Commission on Wednesday announced bye-elections to some vacant seats in Karnataka Legislative Council and Maharashtra Legislative Council. The poll panel announced the bye-election schedule for bypolls to fill three casual vacancies in the Karnataka Legislative Council and one casual vacancy in the Legislative Council of Maharashtra by the Members of Legislative Assembly.

The bye-election is set to take place on October 3. Both voting, as well as counting of votes, will take place on the same day. While voting will take place from 9 am to 4 pm on October 3, counting will take place at 5 pm.

Complete schedule of Karnataka And Maharashtra MLC Bypolls

S.No. Subject of Programme Dates and Days
  Issue of Notifications 14th September, 2018 (Friday)
  Last Date of making nominations 22nd September, 2018 (Saturday)
  Scrutiny of nominations 24th September, 2018 (Monday)
  Last date for withdrawal of candidatures 26th September, 2018 (Wednesday)
  Date of Poll 3rd October, 2018 (Wednesday)
  Hours of Poll 9.00 A.M. to 4.00 P.M.
  Counting of Votes 3rd October, 2018 (Wednesday) at 5.00 P.M.
  Date before which election shall be completed 6th October, 2018 (Saturday)

The three seats of Karnataka Legislative Council went vacant after KS Eshwarappa, G Parameshwara and V Somanna resigned following their election to the Karnataka Assembly earlier this year. The one seat of Maharashtra Legislative Council went vacant after the death of Pandurang Pundlik Fundkar in May this year.