Karnataka By-Elections 2019: BJP Releases List of 40 Leaders For Campaigning, Check Names
BJP party flags. (Photo Credits: IANS)

New Delhi, November 17: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has released a list of 40 leaders who will campaign for the party for the upcoming by-elections in the state of Karnataka. Karnataka State Election Commission had said last Sunday, on November 10, that the by-elections to 15 assembly seats will go as per schedule announced earlier. Karnataka By-Elections 2019: As BJP Bets on Disqualified MLAs, Resentment Grows.

According to dates, bypolls will be held on December 5. The counting of votes will take place on December 9 and results will be declared on the same day. The model code of conduct comes into effect from November 11, said Chief Electoral Officer Sanjeev Kumar. Karnataka By-Elections 2019: Why Bypolls to 15 Seats Matter For BJP.

Read the Names in the Tweet Below

Stakes are high for the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) which has a wafer-thin majority in currently 208-member house. Prior to a floor test, which resulted in the collapse of the 14-month-old Congress-JD-S government in Karnataka in July, former Speaker Ramesh Kumar disqualified 14 rebel MLAs of the Congress and three of the Janata Dal (Secular). This reduced the assembly strength from 225 to 208.