Lakshadweep Lok Sabha Constituency in Lakshadweep Results 2019: NCP Candidate Mohammed Faizal PP Elected MP
Lakshadweep Lok Sabha constituency (Photo Credits: File Photo)

Lakshadweep is the only constituency in the Union Territory of Lakshadweep in India. This seat is reserved for scheduled tribes. As per the record till the 2014 election, Lakshadweep is the smallest Lok Sabha constituency by a number of voters. Here the election will be held under Phase I on April 11, 2019. PC No.1 is the constituency number of this seat. Before 1967, the Member of Parliament for this constituency were directly appointed by the President of India. The results of the Lakshadweep Constituency will be declared today. The counting of votes began on the Parliamentary seat in Lakshadweep at 8 am on Thursday, May 23. Voting took place for the Lakshadweep seat in the third phase of Lok Sabha Elections 2019. A total voter turnout of 84.96 per cent was recorded, as per Election Commission of India. Stay with us for Live updates on the results for the Lakshadweep Lok Sabha seat. NCP Candidate Mohammed Faizal PP Elected MP.  Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule: Voting In 7 Phases From April 11 to May 19, Counting And Results On May 23; Check All Dates For General Elections.

Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) has nominated Shri Abdul Khader, while the Indian National Congress has chosen M. Handullah Sayeed to compete for General Election, 2019.The Election Commission has declared March 25, 2019, as the last date of filing on nomination from the seat. The last date for withdrawal of candidature is March 28, 2019. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Phase I: List of States And Constituencies Voting On April 11.

Watch: Details of Lok Sabha Polls Phase I

In the 16th Lok Sabha Election, 2014, Mohammed Faizal P.P. from National Congress Party emerged victorious, where he bagged 21,665 votes. He defeated Muhammed Hamdulla Sayeed from Indian National Congress by a margin of 1535 votes. The candidate from other parties like CPI(M), BJP, SP and CPI contested in the past general election. The total number of voters in the previous Lok Sabha election for this seat were 43,239.

The General Election 2019 will be held in India from April 11, 2019 to May 19, 2019. The result will be out on May 23, 2019. The polling will be done in total 7 phases.