Latur Lok Sabha Constituency in Maharashtra Results 2019: BJP Candidate Sudhakar Tukaram Shrangare Elected as MP
Latur Lok Sabha election 2019 (Photo Credits: File Image)

Mumbai, March 23: BJP candidate Sudhakar Tukaram Shrangare was elected as Member of Parliament from Latur parliamentary seat. Latur Lok Sabha constituency is one of the 48 parliamentary constituencies in Maharashtra. Polling for Lok Sabha election in Latur seat was held on April 18 in the second phase of general polls.

Sunil Baliram Gaikwad of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is the current Member of Parliament (MP) from Latur Lok Sabha seat. However, the BJP denied ticket to its sitting MP and fielded Sudhakar Bhalerao Shrungare from Latur. The Congress nominated Machhlindra Kamant from the seat. The process of filing nomination for Latur Lok Sabha election began on March 19. The last day for nominations was March 26. Scrutiny was done on March 27 and the last date for the withdrawal of the nominations was March 29. Maharashtra Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Dates: Constituency-Wise Complete Schedule Of Voting And Results For General Elections.

The BJP and Shiv Sena are contesting 25 and 23 seats respectively of the total 48 Lok Sabha constituencies in Maharashtra. The NCP is contesting 24 and the Congress will fight 24. Both the parties have formed an allaince as well. Check Full Schedule of Lok Sabha Elections 2019.

Lok Sabha election 2019 schedule for second phase:

Issue of Notification March 19
Last date for filing nomination March 26
Scrutiny of nomination March 27
Last date for withdrawal of candidature March 29
Date Of Poll April 18
Date of Result May 23

The BJP-Shiv Sena combine together bagged 41 of the 48 seats in Maharashtra in the 2014 Lok Sabha election, leaving Congress with two and the NCP four seats. Lok Sabha elections are scheduled to be held in seven phases - on April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19.