Maharashtra Government: List of Ministers With Portfolio in Uddhav Thackeray's Cabinet
Maharashtra CM Uddhav Thackeray before cabinet meeting (Photo Credits: ANI)

Mumbai, December 12: Portfolios of Maharashtra ministers in the Maha Vikas Aghadi government, led by Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray, were distributed on Thursday. While Uddhav Thackeray did not keep any portfolio with him, Shiv Sena leader Eknath Shinde was given Home department among others. Jayant Patil of the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) has been made the Minister of Finance, while Congress's Balasaheb Thorat will head the Revenue department. Sharad Pawar Reveals What Made Shiv Sena Accept 'Secularism', Clears NCP's Stand on Citizenship Amendment Bill.

Uddhav Thackeray was sworn-in along with his six ministers on November 28, but their portfolios were not distributed, attracting huge flak from the opposition Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). Shinde will be the new Home Minister of Maharashtra and will also head other critical departments like Urban Development, Forests and Environment, Water Supply, Parliamentary Affairs, among others. His party colleague Subhash Desai will handle Industry, Higher & Technical Education, Sports and Youth Welfare, Agriculture, Transport, Employment Guarantee, and more. Maha Vikas Aghadi Seals Common Minimum Programme, Vows to Uphold Secular Values.

Apart from the Finance department, NCP's Jayant Patil has also been given Housing, Public Health, Labour and Minorities Development. His party colleague Chhagan Bhujbal has been given Rural Development, Water Resources, Social Justice, Food and Drugs, and other responsibilities. Balasaheb Thorat is the new Revenue Minister, Power, Medical Education, School Education, Animal Husbandry, Milk and Fisheries, etc.

Another Congress minister Nitin Raut will handle Public Works Department, Tribal Welfare, Women and Child Development, Textiles, Relief & Rehabilitation and All Backward Classes. CM Uddhav Thackeray will handle all other portfolios which have not been specifically allocated to any of his cabinet colleagues, an official told news agency IANS.