Mizoram Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Dates: Complete Schedule of Voting And Results For General Elections
Image used for representational purpose.

New Delhi, March 10: The Election Commission on Sunday announced the polling dates for the 17th Lok Sabha Elections. The polling for the Lok Sabha for the 543 seats will take place in Seven (7) Phases from April 11 to May 19, 2019 while the counting of votes will take place on May 23, 2019. The polling in Mizoram would take place in First phase on April 11, 2019 for one seat, which is reserved.

The election dates were announced by three Election Commissioners – Sunil Arora (Chief EC), Ashok Lavasa and Sushil Chandra – in the national capital. The Commissioners informed that adequate security arrangements have been done for the smooth conduction of polls in the country. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Constituency-Wise Schedule: Check The Voting Dates of Mumbai, Delhi, Chennai, Kolkata & Other Cities. 

Here is the Complete Schedule for Elections (Constituency-Wise):

Phase 1 Sl No.  PC No.  Constituency   Category
11/4/2019 1 1 Mizoram ST
(Polling Date)

Here is the Complete Schedule for Elections (State-Wise):

Phase Polling Date States Election Result
1 April 11, 2019 Andhra Pradesh-25,Arunachal Pradesh-2, Bihar-4, Assam-5,Chattisgarh-1,Jammu & Kashmir-2,Maharashtra-7,Manipur-1,Meghalaya-2, Mizoram-1,Nagaland-1,Orrisa-4,Sikkim-1,Telangana-17,Tripura-1,Uttar Pradesh-8,Uttarakhand-5,West Bengal-2,Andaman & Nicobar-1,Lakhswadeep-1 (Total-91) May 23, 2019
2 April 18, 2019 Assam-5, Bihar-5,Chattisgarh-3,Jammu & Kashmir-2,Karnataka-14,Maharashtra-10,Manipur-1,Orrisa-5,Tamil Nadu-39,Tripura-1,Uttar Pradesh-8, West Bengal-3,Pondicherry-1 (Total-97) May 23, 2019
3 April 23, 2019 Assam-4,Bihar-5,Chattisgarh-7,Gujarat-26,Goa-2,Jammu & Kashmir-1,Karnataka-14,Kerala-20, Maharashtra-14,Orrisa-6,Uttar Pradesh-10,West Bengal-5,Dadra & Nagar Haveli-1,Daman & Diu-1 (Total-115) May 23, 2019
4 April 29, 2019 Bihar-5, Jammu & Kashmir-1,Jharkhand-3,Madhya Pradesh-6,Maharshtra-17,Orrisa-2,Rajasthan-13, Uttar Pradesh-13, west Bengal-8 (Total-71) May 23, 2019
5 May 6, 2019 Bihar-5, Jammu and Kashmir-2,Jharkhand-4,Madhya Pradesh-7,Rajasthan-12,Uttar Pradesh-14,West Bengal-7 (Total-51) May 23,2019
6 May 12, 2019 Bihar-8,Haryana-10,Jharkhand-4,Madhya Pradesh-8,Uttar Pradesh-14, West Bengal-8, Delhi-7 (Total-59) May 23,2019
7 May 19, 2019 Bihar-8,Jharkhand-3,Madhya Pradesh-8,Punjab-13,West Bengal-9, Chandigarh-1, Uttar Pradesh-13, Himachal Pradesh-4 (Total-59) May 23, 2019

In Mizoram, the main political parties contesting the Lok Sabha elections for the single seat include – Mizo National Front (MNF), Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M), Indian National Congress (INC), Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), and others. In 2014, despite threats from infringe elements, people turned out in large numbers for voting, and the voter turnout in Mizoram was 61.69 per cent.

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule And Dates: Voting In 7 Phases, Results On May 23 (Watch Video):

In the last Lok Sabha Elections in 2014, Indian National Congress won the single reserved seat for Scheduled Tribe category by securing 48.49 per cent votes. Congress's CL Ruala enjoyed the support of 2,10,485 voters, while independent candidate Robert Romawia Royle came at second place with 47.17 per cent votes. The results were declared on May 16, 2014. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule: Voting In 7 Phases From April 11 to May 19, Counting And Results On May 23; Check All Dates For General Elections. 

In 2014, Mizoram had 3,46,219 males voters and 3,55,951 females voters. However, only 2,16,167 males and 2,17,034 females exercised their democratic rights. Due to this, the male voting turnout was 62.44 per cent for males, and the female voter turnout was 60.97 per cent. Combinedly, the total voting percent was 61.69 per cent (ECI, 2014). It is almost expected that there would be a rise in the number of voters in 2019, as the ECI had declared that they would be updating the list soon.