Mumbai North Central Lok Sabha Constituency in Maharashtra Results 2019: BJP Candidate Poonam Mahajan Elected as MP
Mumbai North Central Lok Sabha election 2019 (Photo Credits: File Image)

Mumbai, March 23: Two woman candidates from the Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) were in the fray in Mumbai North Central Lok Sabha constituency. BJP MP from Mumbai North Central Poonam Mahajan faced Congress candidate Priya Dutt, daughter of late legendary actor Sunil Dutt. After counting of votes, Poonam Mahajan was elected as Member of Parliament.

The process of filing nomination for the parliamentary election in India's financial capital began from April 2. The last day for nominations was April 9. The scrutiny was done on April 10 and the last date for the withdrawal of the nominations was April 12. Check Full Schedule of Lok Sabha Elections 2019.

In 2014 Lok Sabha polls, Poonam Mahajan defeated Dutt. The Congress and the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) are contesting the Lok Sabha election together. Similarly, the BJP has formed an alliance with the Shiv Sena. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule: How Staggered Polling Could Help BJP.

Lok Sabha election 2019 schedule for phase four:

Issue of Notification April 2
Last date for filing nomination April 9
Scrutiny of nomination April 10
Last date for withdrawal of candidature April 12
Date Of Poll April 29
Date of Result May 23

In 2014 Lok Sabha polls, the BJP-Shiv Sena-Swabhiman Paksha alliance together won 42 of the 48 seats in Maharashtra. Congress could win only two seats and NCP just four. Lok Sabha elections are scheduled to be held in seven phases - on April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19.

Maharashtra-Mumbai North central
O.S.N. Candidate Party EVM Votes Postal Votes Total Votes % of Votes
1IMRAN MUSTAFA KHANBahujan Samaj Party4190541950.47
2DUTT PRIYA SUNILIndian National Congress35629836935666739.55
3POONAM MAHAJANBharatiya Janata Party48581585748667253.97
4ABDUR REHMAN ANJARIAVanchit Bahujan Aaghadi3362677337033.74
5KURBAN SHAHADAT HUSSAINRashtriya Ulama Council61306130.07
6ADV. FEROZ A. SHAIKHJan Adhikar Party41104110.05
7MILIND (ANNA) KAMBLEBharat Jan Aadhar Party48624880.05
8MEHEDI IQBAL HASAN SAYYEDAmbedkar National Congress26102610.03
9MOHAMMAD MEHMOOD SYED SHAHAll India Minorities Front72207220.08
10MOHAMMAD MOBIN SHAIKH (AZMI)Peace Party67106710.07
11RAJESH NANDLAL BHAVSARBhartiya Manavadhikaar Federal Party28402840.03
12AKSHAY KACHARU SANAPIndependent45404540.05
13ANKUSH RAMCHANDRA KARANDEIndependent53505350.06
14JOY NAGESH BHOSLEIndependent94209420.1
16MOHD. YAHIYA SIDDIQUEIndependent1073010730.12
18SUNDER BABURAO PADMUKHIndependent98909890.11
19SNEHA (SAGAR) NIVRUTTI KALEIndependent75907590.08
21NOTANone of the Above1064722106691.18
Total 9004511333901784