Nagpur West Vidhan Sabha Constituency Election Result 2019 in Maharashtra: Vikas Pandurang Thakre of Congress Wins MLA Seat in Assembly Poll
Nagpur West Assembly Elections 2019. (Photo Credits: File)

Result of the assembly elections in Nagpur West vidhan sabha constituency, along with other assembly segments of Maharashtra, has been declared by the Election Commission. The seat went to polls in the single-phase elections held on October 21. The electoral contest here was primarily between the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-Shiv Sena alliance and the Opposition's coalition of Congress and Nationalist Congress Party (NCP). Vikas Pandurang Thakre of the Congress has been declared the winner. Assembly Elections Results 2019: BJP-Shiv Sena Alliance Gets Clear Mandate in Maharashtra; Hung House in Haryana.

From the Nagpur West seat, the BJP had issued the ticket toSudhakar Shamrao Deshmukh, whereas, the Opposition candidate was Congress leader Vikas Pandurang Thakre. In 2014, Deshmukh Sudhakar Shamrao  of the BJP had won the elections.

In the 2014 Maharashtra assembly elections, the saffron alliance of BJP-Sena returned to power after a hiatus of 15 years. Both the parties had contested without a pre-poll pact, and had ended up winning 122 and 63 seats, respectively. The Congress and the NCP -- which also fought without a pre-election alliance -- were reduced to 42 and 41 seats, respectively. Following the polls, the BJP and Sena sealed a post-election coalition to jointly form the government.

Along with Maharashtra, the state of Haryana -- with 90 legislative assembly seats -- also went to polls on October 21. In both the states, the pollsters had given the edge to the BJP. The party was predicted to win up to 78 constituencies in Haryana in one of the surveys. In Maharashtra, the BJP-Sena alliance was predicted to bag up to 205 out of the 288 constituencies, as per one of the opinion polls.

MLA CandidatesPartyVotes
Gajbhiye Yogesh BalakdasIND94
Afzal Omar FarooqueBSP8427
Vikas Pandurang ThakreINC83252
Sudhakar Shamrao DeshmukhBJP76885
Vijay Namdeorao KhandaleIND290
Monali Prakash BhalaviIND254
Rajiv Ranjan SinghIND251
Singh Manoj KrupashankarIND2201
Babita Raju AwasthiIND2050
Nilesh Mahadev DhokeIND197
Rambhau Budharam BhalaviIND186
Dr. Vinod Maroti RangariBahujan Republican Socialist PartyNA