Palghar Vidhan Sabha Constituency in Maharashtra: Sitting MLA, Candidates For Assembly Elections 2019, Results And Winners
Palghar Assembly Seat. (Photo Credits: File Image)

Result of the assembly elections in Palghar constituency, along with all other assembly segments of Maharashtra, will be declared by the Election Commission on October 24. The Palghar seat will go to polls in the single-phase elections to be held on October 21. The electoral contest here is primarily between the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-Shiv Sena alliance and the Opposition's coalition of Congress and Nationalist Congress Party (NCP). Amit Ghoda of Shiv Sena is the sitting MLA from this seat. He won the 2016 by-election that was held after MLA Krushna Ghoda died in 2015. Who Will Win Maharashtra Assembly Elections 2019? Here's What ABP News Opinion Poll Results Predict.

From the Palghar seat, the Shiv Sena has issued ticket to Shrinivas Chintaman Vanga. Whereas, the Opposition candidate is Congress leader Yogesh Shankar Nam. In 2014, Krushna Ghoda won the seat from Shiv Sena ticket. But his death in 2015 made the seat go vacant. The by-election was held in 2016 and Amit Ghoda won the election. However this time he has not been given a ticket by the party.

In the 2014 Maharashtra assembly elections, the saffron alliance of BJP-Sena returned to power after a hiatus of 15 years. Both the parties had contested without a pre-poll pact, and had ended up winning 122 and 63 seats, respectively. The Congress and the NCP -- which also fought without a pre-election alliance -- were reduced to 42 and 41 seats, respectively. Following the polls, the BJP and Sena sealed a post-election coalition to jointly form the government.

Along with Maharashtra, the state of Haryana -- with 90 legislative assembly seats -- will also go to polls on October 21. In both the states, the pollsters have given the edge to the BJP. The party was predicted to win up to 78 constituencies in Haryana in one of the surveys. In Maharashtra, the BJP-Sena alliance was predicted to bag up to 205 out of the 288 constituencies, as per one of the opinion polls.