Rania Vidhan Sabha Constituency Election Result 2019 in Haryana: Independent Candidate Ranjit SIngh Wins MLA Seat in Assembly Polls
Rania Assembly Elections 2019 (Photo Credits: File Image)

Chandigarh, October 24: Independent candidate Ranjit Singh won the Rania Vidhan Sabha constituency. Singh defeated his nearest rival Haryana Lokhit Party's Gobind Kandaa by a margin of 19,431 votes. Singh received 53825 votes, while Kanda got 34,394 votes. Sitting MLA Ram Chand Kamboj of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) came at third spot. The counting of votes began on October 24 at 8 am. Haryana Assembly Elections 2019: Full List of Constituencies With Current MLA Names and How BJP, Congress, INLD Performed in 2014.

The Rania Vidhan Sabha constituency falls in the Sirsa district of Haryana. Voting in Rania for the Haryana Assembly Elections 2019 took place on October 21. The Election Commission of India (ECI) on September 21 announced the election schedule for Haryana. There were 1.82 crore registered voters in the state.

Polling for the 90-member Haryana assembly was held along with assembly elections in Maharashtra. According to the schedule of Haryana polls announced by the Election Commission, nomination papers were filed till October 4. Nomination papers were scrutinised on October 5. The last date of withdrawal of candidature was October 7. In 2014, Kamboj had won the seat. However, he joined the BJP before the assembly elections 2019. Assembly Elections 2019 Dates: Maharashtra & Haryana Go to Polls in Single-Phase on October 21, Results on October 24.

The main competition in Haryana was between the ruling BJP and the Congress. However, the newly formed JPP managed to dent vote share of both the parties. Haryana Legislative Assembly comprises of 90 seats out of which 17 seats are reserved for Scheduled Castes (SC) and none for Scheduled Tribes (ST). In the 2014 polls in the state, the BJP had won with a thumping majority and had scripted history in the state. The BJP had won 47 seats, while the Congress managed to win only 15 seats.

MLA CandidatesPartyVotes
Ashok Kumar VermaINLD9753
Vineet KambojINC8979
Daya Ram Fatehpur Niyamat KhanBSP889
Rai Singh GindranIND807
Ranjit SinghIND53825
Bir SinghIND537
Ram ChanderIND385
Balwant RamIND272
Ram Chand KambojBJP20709
Jasvinder Singh KambojIND199
Susheel KumarIND1903
Amarjeet Singh ChaniAAP1685
Kuldeep SinghJannayak Janta PartyNA
Krishan KumarSarva Hit PartyNA
Gobind KandaHaryana Lokhit PartyNA
NorangLoktanter Suraksha PartyNA