'Shiv Sena Did Not Vote Against CAB': Subramanian Swamy Asks BJP to Bring Uddhav Thackeray's Party Back Into NDA
Subramanian Swamy (Photo Credits: IANS)

New Delhi, December 11: Reacting to Shiv Sena's move to boycott voting on the Citizenship Amendment Bill in Rajya Sabha, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) lawmaker Subramanian Swamy said that Uddhav Thackeray's party did not compromise on its 'Hindutva' ideology. Seeking reinduction of the Shiv Sena into the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA), Subramanian Swamy said that the Maharashtra-based party should be given chief minister's post for two and a half years. Citizenship Amendment Bill 2019: What Fundamental Rights Article 14, 15 Guarantee And Arguments in Favour of & Against CAB.

"It was good of Shiv Sena to stick with the Hindutva ideology in the matter of CAB. SS did not vote against the CAB. Time to open a channel with SS and win them back. They can keep CM post for 2 1/2 years," Swamy tweeted on Wednesday. After voting in favour of the Citizenship Amendment Bill in Lok Sabha, the Shiv Sena, the latest Congress ally, walked out of the Upper House when voting started. Shiv Sena leader Sanjay Raut said that they boycotted the voting over politicisation of the issue.

Subramanian Swamy's Tweet:

"We didn't say that the refugees shouldn't be granted citizenship, they should be given. But we said that if it's a conspiracy for vote bank politics and when allegations are being levelled against you, then they should not be granted voting rights for 25 years," Raut told news agency ANI. After calling the CAB an attempt to create an "invisible partition" in its mouthpiece Saamana on Monday morning, the Shiv Sena supported the legislation in Lok Sabha "in the national interest" later in the day.

However, on Tuesday, Shiv Sena President and Maharashtra Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray took a U-turn and said that his party would not vote in favour of the Bill "unless we get clarity". This had come after the Congress leadership conveyed its displeasure over its new ally's stand over the CAB in Lok Sabha.