Tasgaon-Kavathe Mahankal Vidhan Sabha Constituency Election Result 2019 in Maharashtra: Ajitrao Shankarrao Ghorpade of Shiv Sena Wins MLA Seat in Assembly Polls
Tasgaon-Kavathe Mahankal Vidhan Sabha Constituency (Photo Credits: File Photo)

Ajitrao Shankarrao Ghorpade of Shiv Sena has won the Tasgaon-Kavathe Mahankal Assembly constituency in Maharashtra by defeating the NCP candidate Sumanvahini RR (Aba) Patil. Tasgaon-Kavathe Mahankal is one of the 288 Legislative Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) constituencies in Maharashtra. Tasgaon-Kavathe Mahankal, geographically, is one of the 8 Vidhan Sabha seats that fall under the ambit of Sangli district. The Election Commission of India announced that the voting will take place in a single-phase manner in Maharashtra and hence the electorate of Tasgaon-Kavathe Mahankal will vote on October 21 too.

Tasgaon-Kavathe Mahankal constituency has been Nationalist Congress Party’s (NCP) bastion since 1999. In Maharashtra Assembly Elections 2014, it was NCP strongman RR Patil who had won the from Tasgaon-Kavathe Mahankal constituency. In 2009 Maharashtra Elections too, it was RR Patil who had won the elections. Also, in 2015 By-elections, it was Suman Aba Patil, who won the polls by a good margin. Assembly Elections Results 2019: BJP-Shiv Sena Alliance Gets Clear Mandate in Maharashtra; Hung House in Haryana.

In Maharashtra Assembly Elections 2019, the main contenders from Tasgaon-Kavathe Mahankal constituency are Ajitrao Ghorpade (Shiv Sena), Shankar Mane (BSP), and Sumanvahini RR Patil (NCP). It will be a triangular contest between Shiv Sena, BSP and NCP.

On September 21, the Election Commission had declared the election dates for Maharashtra Assembly Elections and Haryana Assembly Polls 2019. It was mentioned that the voting will be taking place in a single-phase manner, i.e. on October 21.

The EC mentioned that the votes will be counted on October 24, and the results for Maharashtra Assembly Polls will be announced on the same day. Also, the EC mentioned that all the election-related procedures will be completed before October 28, i.e. Diwali.

The Maharashtra government’s current term is slated to end on November 9. With less than a week left for voting in Maharashtra Assembly Elections 2019, it will be interesting to see which of the two alliances NDA vs UPA, wins the race on October 24. For more live news and latest updates of Maharashtra Vidhan Sabha Elections 2019, stay tuned to LatestLY.

MLA CandidatesPartyVotes
Ajitrao Shankarrao GhorpadeSHS65839
Shankar (Dada) ManeBSP2320
Sumanvahini R.R. (Aba) PatilNCP128371
Balaso Sitaram PawarBaliraja PartyNA
Suman Ravsaheb Alias R. (Aba) PatilINDNA