Uddhav Thackeray to Lead Maha Vikas Agadi Government in Maharashtra: Know Date, Time & Venue of Swearing-In Ceremony
Shiv Sena President Uddhav Thackeray (Photo Credits: IANS)

Mumbai, November 26: The swearing-in ceremony of Uddhav Thackeray as Maharashtra Chief Minister will take place on Thursday, November 28 at 6:40 pm at Shivaji Park in Mumbai. Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyrai will administer the oath taking ceremony. Reports also surfaced that NCP's Jayant Patil and Congress's Bala Saheb Thorat will take oath as Deputy CM's. Uddhav Thackeray on Tuesday was elected as Chief Minister candidate and leader of the “Maha Vikas Aghadi” – the alliance of Shiv Sena, Congress and Nationalist Congress Party (NCP). A resolution proposing Thackeray’s name as the leader of the alliance was passed unanimously by all the MLAs of Maha Vikas Agadi. Three representatives of 'Maha Vikas Aghadi' also met Governor Koshiyari in the evening.

Speaking at the joint meeting of Congress, Shiv Sena and NCP, Thackeray promised to work for improving conditions of farmers of the state. He said, “: I accept the responsibility given by all of you. I'm not alone, but you all are CM with me. What has happened today is the actual democracy. Together we will wipe off the tears of farmers in the state.” Sharad Pawar Emerges From Shadows As Maratha Strongman Amid Power Tussle in Maharashtra.

Uddhav Thackeray's Statement:

Hitting out at Devendra Fadnavis, Thackeray stated, “I am not scared of anything. Lies are not part of Hindutva. When needed you to hug us and when not needed, you leave us. You tried to keep us away.” While answering the question about inviting PM Narendra Modi at the swearing-in, Shiv Sena MP Sanjay Raut told reports, “Yes we will invite everyone, we will even invite Amit Shah ji.” Devendra Fadnavis Quits as CM, Says BJP Will Work as Effective Opposition in Maharashtra Assembly, Hits Out at Shiv Sena For Aligning With Congress.

Sanjay Raut's Statement:

Earlier in the day, Fadnavis and NCP rebel leader Ajit Pawar resigned for their posts of Maharashtra CM and deputy CM respectively. Both the leaders submitted their resignations hours after the Supreme Court directed the BJP government to prove its majority on Wednesday in the floor test. The top court issued the order while hearing a joint plea by Shiv Sena, Congress and the NCP against the swearing-in of Fadnavis.