Umred (SC) Vidhan Sabha Constituency Election Result 2019 in Maharashtra: Raju Devnath Parwe of Congress Wins MLA Seat in Assembly Poll
Image used for illustration purpose

Result of the assembly elections in Umred vidhan sabha constituency, along with other assembly segments of Maharashtra, has been declared by the Election Commission. The seat went to polls in the single-phase elections held on October 21. The electoral contest here was primarily between the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-Shiv Sena alliance and the Opposition's coalition of Congress and Nationalist Congress Party (NCP). Raju Devnath Parwe of the Congress has been declared the winner. Assembly Elections Results 2019: BJP-Shiv Sena Alliance Gets Clear Mandate in Maharashtra; Hung House in Haryana.

From the Umred seat, the BJP had issued the ticket to Sudhir Laxman Parwe, whereas, the Opposition candidate was Congress leader Raju Devnath Parwe. In 2014, Parwe Sudhir Laxman of the BJP had won the elections.

In the 2014 Maharashtra assembly elections, the saffron alliance of BJP-Sena returned to power after a hiatus of 15 years. Both the parties had contested without a pre-poll pact, and had ended up winning 122 and 63 seats, respectively. The Congress and the NCP -- which also fought without a pre-election alliance -- were reduced to 42 and 41 seats, respectively. Following the polls, the BJP and Sena sealed a post-election coalition to jointly form the government.

Along with Maharashtra, the state of Haryana -- with 90 legislative assembly seats -- also went to polls on October 21. In both the states, the pollsters had given the edge to the BJP. The party was predicted to win up to 78 constituencies in Haryana in one of the surveys. In Maharashtra, the BJP-Sena alliance was predicted to bag up to 205 out of the 288 constituencies, as per one of the opinion polls.

MLA CandidatesPartyVotes
Nitnavare Vinod ShalikramIND922
Raju Devnath ParweINC85041
Sudhir Laxman ParweBJP68821
Abhishek Chaturbhuj BansodIND649
Rukshdas Mokasrao BansodVBA5312
Manojkumar Manoranjan BawangadeMNS1718
Sandip Sahadeo MeshramBSP16916
Kamble Milind DevraoPeasants And Workers Party of IndiaNA
Pandurang Modku ShambharkarAmbedkarite Party of IndiaNA
Bawane Padmakar DomajiBahujan Mukti PartyNA
Mina Gulabrao WarkarRashtriya Jansambhavna PartyNA