Wardha Vidhan Sabha Constituency Election Result 2019 in Maharashtra: Pankaj Rajesh Bhoyar of BJP Wins MLA Seat in Assembly Poll
Wardha Assembly Elections 2019. (Photo Credits: File)

Result of the assembly elections in Wardha vidhan sabha constituency, along with other assembly segments of Maharashtra, has been declared by the Election Commission. The seat went to polls in the single-phase elections held on October 21. The electoral contest here was primarily between the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-Shiv Sena alliance and the Opposition's coalition of Congress and Nationalist Congress Party (NCP). Pankaj Rajesh Bhoyar of the BJP has been declared the winner. Assembly Elections Results 2019: BJP-Shiv Sena Alliance Gets Clear Mandate in Maharashtra; Hung House in Haryana.

From the Wardha seat, the BJP has issued the ticket to Dr Pankaj Rajesh Bhoyar, whereas, the Opposition candidate is Congress leader Shekhar Pramod Shende. In 2014, Dr Pankaj Rajesh Bhoyar of the BJP won the elections.

In the 2014 Maharashtra assembly elections, the saffron alliance of BJP-Sena returned to power after a hiatus of 15 years. Both the parties had contested without a pre-poll pact, and had ended up winning 122 and 63 seats, respectively. The Congress and the NCP -- which also fought without a pre-election alliance -- were reduced to 42 and 41 seats, respectively. Following the polls, the BJP and Sena sealed a post-election coalition to jointly form the government.

Along with Maharashtra, the state of Haryana -- with 90 legislative assembly seats -- also went to polls on October 21. In both the states, the pollsters had given the edge to the BJP. The party was predicted to win up to 78 constituencies in Haryana in one of the surveys. In Maharashtra, the BJP-Sena alliance was predicted to bag up to 205 out of the 288 constituencies, as per one of the opinion polls.

MLA CandidatesPartyVotes
Chandrashekhar Kashinath MadaviIND726
Dr. Pankaj Rajesh BhoyarBJP71199
Shekhar Pramod ShendeINC63657
Anant Shamraoji UmateVBA4516
Manish Devrao PusateBSP3463
Chandrabhan Ramaji NakhaleIND277
Sachin Pandurang Raut Alias (Guru Bhau)IND262
Adv. Nandkishor Pralhadrao BorkarIND201
Niraj Gulabrao GujarIND1517
Prakash Bajirao WalkeGondvana Gantantra PartyNA