Dale Steyn Takes a Dig at South African Selectors After Not Getting Selected for T20I For India Tour
Dale Steyn (Photo Credits: Getty Images)

Pacer Dale Steyn announced his retirement early last week but remained available for selection for the shorter format of the game. However, Steyn has been ignored for the upcoming tour of India and is not a part of the squad which will play three T20Is and as many Test matches. The series will begin from September 15, 2019. This has surely not gone well with the pacer and he slammed the selectors for dropping him from the squad. Dale Steyn Retires from Test Cricket: Virat Kohli, AB De Villiers and Others Congratulate ‘Pace Machine’ on an Incredible Career.

The selectors have instead picked three uncapped players for the tussle in the shortest format. Temba Bavuma, Bjorn Fortuin and Anrich Nortje for the T20Is. While responding to the tweets said that he was ignored by the selectors as they were busy picking up the coaching staff for the team. The South African Cricket Board has been looking for a complete reshuffle in their staff post their CWC 2019 debacle.

Check out the tweet below:

Quinton de Kock will be leading the team for the T20Is whereas, Faf Du Plessis will lead the team for the ODIs. Check out the squads below:

South Africa Test squad: Faf du Plessis (c), Temba Bavuma (vc), Theunis de Bruyn, Quinton de Kock, Dean Elgar, Zubayr Hamza, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Senuran Muthusamy, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Vernon Philander, Dane Piedt, Kagiso Rabada, Rudi Second

South Africa T20I squad: Quinton de Kock (c), Rassie van der Dussen (vc), Temba Bavuma, Junior Dala, Bjorn Fortuin, Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, David Miller, Anrich Nortje, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Jon-Jon Smuts