India vs Australia 2018-19 Test Series: Aussies Announce 14-Man Squad For First Two Matches, Uncapped Marcus Harris & Chris Tremain Surprise Inclusion in the Team
File Image | Australia Test Cricket Team | (Photo Credits: Getty Images)

Cricket Australia (CA), on Thursday, announced a 14-man squad for the upcoming Test series against India. However, the following squad has been announced for the first two Tests only. The team will be led by Tim Paine, along with two deputies, Josh Hazlewood, and Mitchell Marsh. In-form batsman Usman Khawaja is included too, which indicates that the left-handed batsman has recovered from his injury.

The batting line-up, sans David Warner and Steve Smith obviously, looks good if not great given how the team has struggled in recent times. Shaun Marsh, Travis Head, Aaron Finch, and Usman Khwaja will have to come good if the Australian side looks to pose a potential threat the visiting Indian team.

The team management has given a chance to Marcus Harris, who has had an impressive season with Victoria. The left-handed batsman scored a double century against New South Wales in a Sheffield Shield match recently, and has a stupendous average of 87.40 this season.

The bowling pool looks more settled than the batting line-up with those selected in the squad have created problems for the Indian team in the past. Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Pat Cummins, and Peter Siddle have all troubled India big time in their past encounters. Virat Kohli Reportedly Asked to Remain ‘Humble’ by COA During India vs Australia 2018-19 Tour.

Australia’s Squad for 1st and 2nd Test against India: Shaun Marsh, Pat Cummins, Travis Head, Josh Hazlewood (vc), Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh (vc), Usman Khawaja, Chris Tremain, Mitchell Starc, Aaron Finch, Peter Siddle, Peter Handscomb, Tim Paine (c), and Marcus Harris.

After selecting the 14-man squad, national selector Trevor Hohns said, “The squad features a talented group of batsmen and bowlers who have displayed good form in the Sheffield Shield competition to date. We will select a final team of 12 prior to each Test, and the two remaining squad members will be released to get important match time in the Sheffield Shield.”

He further added, “We believe all players chosen deserve their selection in the squad, and we're confident given the opportunity all will apply themselves well against India.”

The first match of the 4-match Test series will take place at the Adelaide Oval, in Adelaide, starting December 6. The second game will be played at Perth Stadium, in Perth, beginning December 14. Stay tuned with us for the latest updates about India vs Australia 2018-19 Series!