Imran Tahir is IPL 2019 Purple Cap Holder for Taking Most Wickets in This Season: Chennai Super Kings' Bowler Becomes Highest Wicket-Taker in IPL 12
Imran Tahir of Chennai Super Kings win Purple Cap 2019 (Photo Credits: IANS)

Imran Tahir became the highest wicket-taker in the 12th Indian Premier League (IPL) 2019 during the final between Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Mumbai Indians (MI). South African leg-spinner Tahir surpassed compatriot Kagiso Rabada of Delhi Capitals (DC) with 26 wickets to his name. The 40-year-old removed Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan to dent Mumbai's charge after the CSK was asked to bowl first by MI skipper Rohit Sharma. Tahir has been in superb form this season and along with captain MS Dhoni, is one of the main reasons for the team's success. IPL Orange Cap 2019 Winner for Scoring Most Runs in This Season: List of Leading Run-Scoring Batsmen of IPL 12.

The last day of the 12th Indian Premier League (IPL) 2019, which will conclude with the mouth-watering clash of titans – Mumbai Indians (MI) and Chennai Super Kings (CSK). While there are still a few hours to go, fans are already discussing accolades and trophies distributed at the end of the tournament. Two important awards to look forward to are – Orange Cap, given to the batsman with most runs and Purple Cap, awarded to the bowler with the most number of wickets. While, it was certain Australia’s David Warner of Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) will bag declared Orange Cap 2019 winner, the race was open for Purple Cap. However, South Africa’s Imran Tahir of Chennai Super Kings overtook Kagiso Rabada of DC to become the highest wicket-taker aka best bowler of VIVO IPL 2019.

The 23-year-old Rabada, took 25 wickets in the 12 matches. He was ruled out of the Indian Premier League due to a back injury. Rabada did not participate in the last match for Delhi as well as their two games in the qualifiers stage.  The young pacer was quoted at the time of his departure from IPL. "It is indeed very hard for me to leave the Delhi Capitals at this stage of the tournament," he said. "But with the World Cup just a month away, a collective decision has been made for me in this regard. It's been a tremendous season for me with the Delhi Capitals, both on and off the field, and I truly believe that our team can win the trophy." Unfortunately, Delhi were bundled out by CSK in the Qualifier 2. MI vs CSK, IPL 2019 Final, Live Cricket Score Updates.

However, Kagiso’s effort in the season put him on top of the list of most wicket-taking bowlers. But because he left the tournament earlier than others, it opened a window of opportunity for other bowlers. Imran Tahir who happens to be Kagiso’s compatriot made most of it.

IPL Purple Cap 2019 Winner for Taking Most Wickets in This Season

Past Purple Cap winners are: Bhuvneshwar Kumar (SRH) with 26 wickets in 14 matches of IPL 2017; Bhuvneshwar Kumar (SRH) with 23 wickets in 17 matches of IPL 2016; Dwayne Bravo (CSK) with 24 wickets in 16 matches of IPL 2015; Mohit Sharma (CSK) with 23 wickets in 16 matches of IPL 2014; Dwayne Bravo (CSK) with 32 wickets in 18 matches of IPL 2013; Morne Morkel (DD) with 25 wickets in 16 matches of IPL 2012; Lasith Malinga (MI) with 28 wickets in 16 matches of IPL 2011; Pragyan Ojha (DC) with 21 wickets in 16 matches of 2010; RP Singh (DC) with 23 wickets in 16 matches of IPL 2009 and Sohail Tanvir (RR) with 22 wickets in 11 matches of IPL 2008.