No-Ball Controversy Takes Center Stage During BAN vs WI 3rd T20I in Dhaka
TV replays confirmed that Thomas had some part of his foot behind the popping crease. (Photo: Twitter)

The third T20 International between Bangladesh and Windies in Dhaka witnessed a controversial no-ball decision. During Bangladesh’s chase, on-field umpire Tanvir Ahmed called Oshane Thomas for overstepping when Liton Das was caught. However, TV replays confirmed that Thomas had some part of his foot behind the popping crease when it landed. Seeing this, Windies captain Carlos Brathwaite opts for a review which he was denied as the rule states no-ball cannot be reviewed. BAN vs WI 3rd T20 Full Scorecard.

Frustrated by the decision, Brathwaite started an argument with the umpires. Match referee Jeff Crowe then intervened and on the boundary line, discussion took place between Windies team-management and Bangladesh captain Shakib Al Hasan. The fourth umpire then stood by on-field umpire’s decision and continued with the no-ball. The play was eventually resumed after ten minutes of stoppage. And batsman Liton Das received a free-hit.

Brathwaite after the match said that everyone saw that it was not a no-ball. “The rule is that if a no-ball is called it cannot be reviewed or reversed. But if it isn't called, it can be reversed checking the video. Everyone saw that it was not a no-ball,” the Windies skipper said.

"For a young man who is inexperienced, Oshane Thomas was under the pump. To finally get a dismissal but the ball has gone to your name as free-hit, to bowl the extra ball with an extra run, obviously it messed his mindset,” he added.

Windies eventually won the series decider by 50 runs and clinched the three-match series 2-1. Set a target of 190 runs to win, Bangladesh were bowled for 140 runs in 17 overs with medium-pacer Keemo Paul picking up 5-15. Interestingly, Das was top-scorer for his side as he scored 43 off just 23 balls. Evin Lewis was adjudged man of the match for his brilliant 36-ball 89.