Smriti Mandhana and Punam Raut Reach 2000 ODI Runs As India Women Beat West Indies by 6 Wickets in 3rd ODI
Smriti Mandhana and Punam Raut (Photo Credits: Getty Images)

Smriti Mandhana and Punam Raut reached 2000 ODI runs during the third ODI against West Indies at Sir Vivian Richards Stadium in Antigua. Mandhana smashed a match-winning 74-run-knock while Punam Raut scored 24. With their respective knocks, both the Indian women cricketers surpassed 2000 ODI runs. Mandhana also became the third-fastest woman cricketer to reach the milestone in 51 innings. The fastest to 2000 ODI runs are Belinda Clark (41 innings) and Meg Lanning (45 innings). Their knocks took India to victory against West Indies women by 6 wickets in the 3rd ODI. Harmanpreet Kaur Takes a Stunning One-Handed Catch at Long-on During India vs West Indies 1st ODI in Antigua (Watch Video). 

Mandhana now has 2025 runs in 51 innings while Raut has 2004 runs in 67 innings. Mandhana’s quick-fire knock also awarded her the player of the match award. Chasing 194 set by West Indies, India’s opener Jemimah Rodrigues smashed a 69-run-knock. Rodrigues and Mandhana made a 141 runs partnership for the first wicket. With Punam Raut (24) and Mithali Raj’s 20 runs, India achieved the target in 42.1 overs. Hayley Matthews was the most successful West Indies’ bowler who grabbed three wickets. With the victory, India women also won the three-match ODI series 2-1. ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2020 Trophy Unveiled by Bollywood Star Kareena Kapoor in Melbourne, Have a Look. 

Earlier, West Indies won the toss and opted to bat first. Captain Stafanie Taylor smashed 79 runs while Stacy-Ann King scored 38 runs. West Indies were bowled out for 194 in exact 50 overs. Jhulan Goswami and Poonam Yadav managed two wickets each while Shikha Pandey, Rajeshwari Gayakwad and Deepti Sharma accounted for one wicket each. India women and West Indies women are also bound to play a five-match T20I series. The first T20I is scheduled to be played on November 9 at Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium in St Lucia.