Watch How Indian Cricket Team Celebrated Series Win Over Windies
Indian cricket team celebrated the win with a cake cutting ceremony. (Photo: @BCCI/Twitter)

India dished out a splendid performance in the fifth and final One-Day International at the Greenfield International Stadium in Thiruvananthapuram. The hosts defeated Windies by nine wickets to clinch the series 3-1. Windies, batting first, were bundled out for just 104 runs as Indian bowlers made things difficult for them. Spinner Ravindra Jadeja scalped four wickets while Jasprit Bumrah and Khaleel Ahmed chipped in with two wickets each. Virat Kohli Tweets: 'Great Effort By The Boys to Win Series', Says Proud to be Part of This 'Dedicated Side'

For Windies, skipper Jason Holder was top-scorer with 25 runs while Marlon Samuels scored 24 runs. 104 is now lowest total for Windies in ODIs against India and tenth overall. In response, India chased the target in 14.5 overs after losing opener Shikhar Dhawan early in the second over.

Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli then added unbeaten 99-run for the second wicket to guide their side to the victory. Rohit scored unbeaten 63 off 56 balls and smashed five fours and four sixes. Kohli also finished unbeaten on 33 off 29 balls and slammed six fours. Meanwhile, the Indian cricket team celebrated the win with a cake cutting ceremony. Rohit Sharma took charge of the ceremony and then smashed some cake on Kedar Jadhav’s face. Virat Kohli and His Dog Feature in Latest Audi TVC Ahead of Diwali 2018, Watch Video.

Here’s the video:

India took an early lead in the series after winning the first ODI at Guwahati. The second match at Visakhapatnam then ended in a tie. Windies then drew level at Pune after clinching a 43-run victory. India bounced back to win fourth and fifth ODI and eventually sealed the series.

The two sides now face each other in the three-match T20 Internationals. The series kicks off with the first T20I at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata on November 04. The second and third T20I will be played on November 06 and 11 at Ekana International Cricket Stadium in Lucknow and MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai.