India News | BJP Candidate Taranjit Singh Sandhu Casts His Vote in Amritsar, Urges People to Vote for Development

Get latest articles and stories on India at LatestLY. Taranjit Singh Sandhi is in the electoral fray against Congress MP and candidate Gurjeet Singh Aujla, AAP's Kuldeep Singh Dhaliwal, and Shiromani Akali Dal's Anil Joshi.

BJP candidate Taranjit Singh Sandhu. (Photo/ANI)

Amritsar (Punjab) [India], June 1 (ANI): Bharatiya Janata Party candidate from Amritsar constituency and former diplomat, Taranjit Singh Sandhu on Saturday casts his vote in the final phase of the Lok Sabha polls.

Soon after casting his vote, Sandhu urged voters to vote for development.

Also Read | PM Narendra Modi Continues His 45-Hour Meditation at Vivekananda Rock Memorial in Kanyakumari (Watch Video).

"The biggest democratic exercise of the world is taking place. People should exercise the franchise today. I appeal to the voters all over India to vote in maximum numbers today, especially in Amritsar. Voting in Amritsar should be for the development. You know the situation in Amritsar. My campaign is directly about the progress and development of Amritsar," he said.

Taranjit Singh Sandhi, who retired after serving as the Indian envoy to the United States, is in the electoral fray against Congress' sitting MP and candidate Gurjeet Singh Aujla, AAP's Kuldeep Singh Dhaliwal, and Shiromani Akali Dal's Anil Joshi.

Also Read | Lok Sabha Elections 2024 Phase 7: Voting Begins for Final Phase of General Polls, PM Narendra Modi in Fray (Watch Videos).

All 13 parliamentary constituencies of Punjab are voting on Saturday in the last phase.

In the 2019 elections, Congress Gurjeet Singh Aujla won the Amritsar seat by almost 1 lakh votes. He defeated Union Minister Hardeep Singh Puri.

The seventh and final phase of polling in the largest festival of democracy started on Saturday as voting started in the last 57 parliamentary constituencies at 7 am across seven states and the Union Territory of Chandigarh.

According to the Election Commission of India, over 10.06 crore electors including approximately 5.24 crore male, 4.82 crore female and 3574 third gender electors are expected to exercise their franchise.

A total of 904 candidates are in the fray for the final phase of polling. The prominent candidates in the fray in this phase include Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leaders Ravi Shankar Prasad, Nishikant Dubey, Ravneet Singh Bittu, Congress leaders Manish Tewari, Charanjit Singh Channi, Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) leader Harsimrat Kaur Badal, Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) leader Misa Bharti.

Polling for the earlier six phases of Lok Sabha elections was held on April 19, April 26, May 7, May 13, May 20 and May 25. Assembly polls have also been held in Andhra Pradesh, Sikkim and Arunachal Pradesh. Odisha is seeing simultaneous polls to Lok Sabha and assembly in the last four phases. (ANI)

(This is an unedited and auto-generated story from Syndicated News feed, LatestLY Staff may not have modified or edited the content body)

Share Now

Share Now