Hyderabad-Karnataka Region Renamed Kalyana Karnataka, CM Yediyurappa Promises Separate Secretariat
File image of BJP Karnataka unit chief BS Yeddyurappa | (Photo Credits: PTI)

Bengaluru, September 17: After the Karnataka cabinet's approval, the Hyderabad-Karnataka region is being renamed as Kalyana-Karnataka on Tuesday. The Hyderabad-Karnataka region enjoys special status under Article 371J of the Constitution owing to its backwardness. It comprises of Ballari, Bidar, Kalaburagi, Koppal, Yadgir and Raichur. Karnataka Minister KS Eshwarappa Says 'Patriotic Muslims Will Vote for BJP'.

"Hyderabad-Karnataka region is being renamed as Kalyana-Karnataka today. It was a long-pending demand. The state government will create a separate Secretariat for the development of Kalyana-Karnataka," Karnataka Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa said while speaking to media in Kalaburagi.

Check ANI Tweet:

The region was part of the princely state of Hyderabad ruled by Nizams. It remained under Nizam rule even after the independence of India on August 15, 1947, as the last monarch of Hyderabad refused to integrate with India. He was later deposed off by invading Indian military on September 17, 1948. The province was merged with India.

Post Independence, the region continued to be called Hyderabad-Karnataka and there were calls to change the name as it had links to Nizam. After renaming the region as Kalyana Karnataka, the state government has issued a circular to celebrate September 17 as Kalyana Karnataka Utsava Dinacharane.