Jammu and Kashmir: PSA Against 26 People Revoked, Former CMs Farooq Abdullah and Mehbooba Mufti Remain Detained
Jammu and Kashmir (Photo Credits: IANS)

Srinagar, January 10: The government on Friday, January 10, revoked the stringent detention warrants in respect of 26 persons detained under the provisions of Jammu and Kashmir Public Safety Act (PSA), 1978. The detainees were lodged in various jails in the newly-carved out union territory. These people were booked under the PSA after the Centre's decision on August 5 last year to revoke Article 370 and bifurcate Jammu and Kashmir into two union territories. Jammu & Kashmir: Five Ex-MLAs Released From Detention, Former CMs Farooq Abdullah and Mehbooba Mufti Remain Detained

Meanwhile, there is no information when former Chief Ministers Farooq and Omar Abdullah, and Mehbooba Mufti will be released. Many policial leaders have criticised their detention and called it "unconstitutional". Kashmir Communication Clampdown: Supreme Court Orders Review of Orders on Internet Shutdown And Sec 144 Imposition Within 7 Days.

On December 30, the Jammu and Kashmir administration had released five political leaders. The leaders belonged to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), the National Conference and the Congress. The leaders included Ghulam Nabi Bhat and Ishfaq Jabbar of NC, Zahoor Mir and Yasir Reshi of PDP and Bashir Mir of Congress.

Earlier today, the Supreme Court asked the Jammu and Kashmir administration to review orders that restrict basic rights and free movement. The court held that access to the Internet is a fundamental right and asked J&K administration to review all orders imposing curbs in the newly formed Union Territory within a week.