Assam Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Phase 3 Voting Begins for Dhubri, Kokrajhar, Barpeta and Gauhati Parliamentary Constituencies
Assam Lok Sabha Elections 2019 (Photo Credits: File Image)

Assam, April 23: The security has been tightened in all the four constituencies in Assam, namely, Dhubri, Kokrajhar, Barpeta and Gauhati undergoing the Lok Sabha Elections 2019 polls today. Polling for the above constituencies in the north-eastern state of Assam began on Tuesday at 7:00 am. As many as 17 candidates have filed their nominations from Gauhati, 13 from Barpeta, nine from Kokrajhar and 15 from Dhubri constituencies. For the Phase III Lok Sabha Elections 2019, held on April 23, the number of polling centres is approximately 4,918, in which lakhs of voters are expected to cast their vote from the four Lok Sabha seats to elect their representative. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule: Voting In 7 Phases From April 11 to May 19, Counting And Results On May 23; Check All Dates For General Elections.

The major political parties in 2019 General Elections are the Indian National Congress (INC), Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), All India Trinamool Congress (AITC), Asom Gana Parishad (AGP), All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) and others. Voting for this year’s Lok Sabha Elections will be conducted through the Electronic Voting Machines and Voter-verifiable paper audit trail (VVPAT) machines which have been placed at all the polling booths in Assam. Over 68 Percent Voters Exercise Franchise in Assam Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Phase 1. 

In Dhubri, the key candidates are Badruddin Ajmal member of AIUDF, Nurul Islam Choudhury member of All India Trinamool Congress (AITC) and Asrof Ali, Independent party. In Kokrajhar, the key candidates are Rajesh Narzary, member of Voters Party International, Pramila Rani Brahma, member of Bodoland Peoples Front and Biraj Deka from Communist Party of India (Marxist), among others. In Barpeta, the key candidates are Chitralekha Das, member of Socialist Unity Centre of India (Communist), Bhadreswar Barman from National Republican Congress and Kumar Deepak Das, member of Asom Gana Parishad, among others. In Gauhati, the key candidates are Manoj Sharma, member of AITC, Bobbeeta Sharma, member of INC and Queen Oja, member of BJP, among others. 73.32% Turnout Recorded in Assam Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Phase 2. 

This year, polling for the Lok Sabha Elections will take place in seven phases. The first phase was held on April 11, the second phase elections were conducted on April 18, the third phase of General Elections was scheduled for today, and the final stage is on May 19, 2019. With the Phase III of Lok Sabha Elections 2019, Assam concludes the polling for its 14 Lok Sabha seats. The final counting of votes and announcement of result will be held on May 23, 2019.