Chandigarh Lok Sabha Constituency in Chandigarh Live Results 2019: Leading Candidates From The Seat, 2014 Winning MP And More
Chandigarh Lok Sabha Constituency (Photo Credits: File Image)

The results of the Chandigarh Lok Sabha election will be declared today. The counting of votes has begun on the Parliamentary seat in Chandigarh at 8 am on Thursday, May 23. Voting for the Chandigarh seat took place in the seventh and final phase of Lok Sabha Elections 2019. Chandigarh is a Lok Sabha constituency which covers the entire Union Territory of Chandigarh. This Lok Sabha constituency is not reserved for any category. the seat number of this constituency is 1. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule: Voting In 7 Phases From April 11 to May 19, Counting And Results On May 23; Check All Dates For General Elections.

The main contest in Chandigarh was between the Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). The Congress fielded Pawan Kumar Bansal, while the BJP gave the ticket to Kirron Kher. The last date of filing nomination for the seat was April 22. The scrutiny of nominations papers took place on April 30. Meanwhile, the last date of withdrawal of candidature was May 2. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Phase VII: List of States And Constituencies Voting on May 19.

Here are important details about Chandigarh Lok Sabha Constituency:

Issue of Notification April 22
Last date for filing nomination April 29
Scrutiny of nomination April 30
Last date for withdrawal of candidature May 2
Date of Poll May 19
Date of Result May 23

Watch: Details of Lok Sabha Polls Phase VII

In 2014 Lok Sabha elections, Bharatiya Janata Party's (BJP) Kirron Kher is sitting MP of Chandigarh. Kher had defeated Congress’ sitting MP Bansal by 69,642 votes and secured 42.2 per cent votes. While Aam Aadmi Party’s Gulkirat Kaur Panag managed to finish the third spot with 1,08,679 votes.

List of States And Constituencies That Will Vote On April 11 In Phase VII:

State (No. of seats voting in this phase) Constituencies
Bihar (8) Nalanda, Patna Sahib, Pataliputra, Arrah, Buxar, Sasaram, Kurakat, Jahanabad
Jharkhand (3) Rajmahal, Dumka, Godda
Madhya Pradesh (8) Dewas, Ujjain, Mandsaur, Ratlam, Dhar, Indore, Khargone, Khandwa
Punjab (13) Gurdaspur, Amritsar, Khadoor Sahib, Jalandhar, Hoshiarpur, Anandpur Sahib, Ludhiana, Fatehgarh Sahib, Faridkot, Firozpur, Bathinda, Sangrur, Patiala
West Bengal (9) Dum Dum, Barasat, Basirhat, Jaynagar, Mathurapur, Diamond Harbour, Jadavpur, Kolkata Dakshin, Kolkata Uttar
Chandigarh (1) Chandigarh
Uttar Pradesh (13) Maharajganj, Gorakhpur, Kushi Nagar, Deoria, Bansgaon, Ghosi, Salempur, Ballia, Ghazipur, Chandauli, Varanasi, Mirzapur, Robertsganj
Himachal Pradesh (4) Kangra, Mandi, Hamirpur, Shimla

On March 10, the Election Commission of India announced dates for the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. The elections will take place in seven phases, and the results will be declared on May 23. The polls will be held in 1,035,918 polling stations across the country compared to 928,000 set up during the last Lok Sabha election in 2014.