Congress Releases 1st List of 12 Candidates for Chhattisgarh Assembly Elections 2018, Repeats 7 of 8 Legislators
Congress President Rahul Gandhi | File Image | (Photo Credits: PTI)

New Delhi, October 19: The India National Congress has released its list of candidates for the Chhattisgarh assembly election 2018. In the list, the Congress party has repeated seven out of eight sitting legislators. On Thursday evening, the party has declared 12 of 18 seats for the first phase of polling on 12 November. Out of 12 candidates, eleven are seats reserved for Scheduled Tribes. In the previous election, Congress has won eight out of twelve seats.

Sitting MLAs who have been renominated from their seats are Kawasi Lakhma from Konta seat (reserved for Scheduled Tribe), Devti Karma from Dantewada (ST), Mohan Lal Markam from Kondagaon (ST), Santram Netam from Keshkal (ST), Manoj Singh Mandavi from Bhanupratppur (ST), Deepak Baij from Chitrakoot (ST) and Lakheshwar Baghel from Bastar (ST). Congress Hints at Possible Alliance For 2019 Lok Sabha Elections.

Here's Congress' first list for phase one of the Chhattisgarh elections:

Antagarh seat: Anoop Nag

Bhanupratappur seat: Manoj Singh Mandavi

Kanker seat: Shishu Pal Sori

Keshkal seat: Santram Netam

Kondagaon seat: Mohan Lal Markam

Narayanpur seat: Chandan Kashyap

Bastar seat: Lakheshwar Baghel

Jagdalpur seat: Rekhchand Jain

Chitrakoot seat; Deepak Kumar Baij

Dantewada seat: Devati Karma

Bijapur seat: Vikram Shah Mandavi

Konta seat: Kawasi Lakhma

The second phase of polling is scheduled on November 20 in Chhattisgarh for the remaining 72 seats. The election results will be declared on 11 December along with other election-bound states Madhya Pradesh, Telangana, Mizoram and Rajasthan.