Election Commission Announces Bypolls in Karnataka, Uttar Pradesh For Rajya Sabha Seats
Election Commission of India. File Image. (Photo Credits: PTI)

Bengaluru, November 14: The Election Commission on Thursday announced bypolls in two Rajya Sabha seats in Karnataka and Uttar Pradesh, which fell vacant recently, on December 12. Karnataka By-Elections 2019: As BJP Bets on Disqualified MLAs, Resentment Grows.

The Karnataka seat fell vacant after Congress member K.C. Ramamurthy resigned to join the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) while the Uttar Pradesh seat fell vacant after Samajwadi Party member Tazeen Fatma resigned to contest the Rampur Assembly bypoll, the seat once represented by her husband Azam Khan. Karnataka By-Elections 2019: Why Bypolls to 15 Seats Matter For BJP.

Khan had resigned from the Rampur Assembly seat after he won the Lok Sabha polls. Ramamurthy's tenure was to end on June 30, 2022 while the term of Fatma was up to end on November 25, 2020. The vote count for the two seats will take place on December 12 after the polling concludes.