Fatehabad Vidhan Sabha Constituency Election Result 2019 in Haryana: Dura Ram of BJP Wins MLA Seat in Assembly Polls
Julana Assembly Elections 2019 (Photo Credits: File Image)

Chandigarh, October 24: Dura Ram of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won the Jind Vidhan Sabha constituency. Ram defeated his nearest rival Jannayak Janata Party's (JJP) Virendra Siwatch by a margin of 3,300 votes. The BJP candidate received 77,175 votes, while Gupta got 73,837 votes. Prahlad Singh of the Congress came at third spot. The counting of votes began on October 24 at 8 am.  In 2014 election, INLD’s Balwan Singh Daulatpuria had won the seat. Haryana Assembly Elections 2019: Full List of Constituencies With Current MLA Names and How BJP, Congress, INLD Performed in 2014.

The Fatehabad Vidhan Sabha constituency falls in the Fatehabad district of Haryana. Voting in Fatehabad for the Haryana Assembly Elections 2019 took place on October 21. Polling for the 90-member Haryana assembly will be held along with assembly elections in Maharashtra.

According to the schedule of Haryana polls announced by the Election Commission, nomination papers were filed till October 4 and were scrutinised on October 5. The last date of withdrawal of candidature was October 7. The Election Commission of India (ECI) on September 21 announced the election schedule for Haryana.  Assembly Elections 2019 Dates: Maharashtra & Haryana Go to Polls in Single-Phase on October 21, Results on October 24.

The main competition in Haryana was between the ruling BJP and the Congress. However, the newly formed JPP managed to dent vote share of both the parties. Haryana Legislative Assembly comprises of 90 seats out of which 17 seats are reserved for Scheduled Castes (SC) and none for Scheduled Tribes (ST). In the 2014 polls in the state, the BJP had won with a thumping majority and had scripted history in the state. The BJP had won 47 seats, while the Congress managed to win only 15 seats.