Jahanabad Lok Sabha Constituency Election Results 2019 in Bihar: Chandeshwar Prasad of JD(U) Wins The Seat
Image used for illustration purpose

Chandeshwar Prasad of Janata Dal (United) has won the parliamentary constituency of Jahanabad, as the Election Commission declared the results today. The seat went to polls on May 19, in the seventh phase of Lok Sabha elections 2019. The constituency recorded a voter turnout of 63 per cent. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Results: Check Tally of BJP, Congress, Other Parties.

The ECI released the notification for final phase of the polls - in a total of 59 seats - on April 22. Candidates were allowed to file their nominations till the last date of April 29. The electoral battle in Jahanabad is primarily between the NDA, which has fielded JD(U) leader Chandeshwar Prasad, whereas, the Mahagathbandhan has issued ticket to RJD's Surendra Yadav.

In the 2014 general elections, the Jahanabad seat was won by Arun Kumar of the RLSP. The runner-up from the constituency was RJD leader Surendra Yadav, who lost by a margin of nearly 42,000 votes.

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Phase 7: Schedule, Date, States And Constituencies

Will the NDA succeed in retaining Jhanjharpur? The answer will be known on May 23, when the ECI will declare the results of Lok Sabha elections 2019.