Kalwan (ST) Vidhan Sabha Constituency Election Result 2019 in Maharashtra: Nitin Arjun Pawar of NCP Wins MLA Seat in Assembly Polls
Kalwan ST Vidhan Sabha Seat (Photo Credits: File Photo)

Mumbai, October 25: The result has been declared for Kalwan Vidhan Sabha constituency on Thursday. The Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) candidate Nitin Arjun Pawar defeated the nearest Communist Party of India (Marxist) candidate Gavit Jiva Pandu by a margin of 6596 votes. The Kalwan assembly seat is a part of Maharashtra's Dindori parliamentary constituency. Maharashtra Assembly Election Results: BJP-Shiv Sena To Form Govt, Says Amit Shah.

In the 2014 Maharashtra Vidhan sabha elections, the saffron alliance of BJP-Sena returned to power after a hiatus of 15 years. Both the parties had contested without a pre-poll pact, and had ended up winning 122 and 63 seats, respectively. The Congress and the NCP -- which also fought without a pre-election alliance -- were reduced to 42 and 41 seats, respectively. Who Will Win Maharashtra Assembly Elections 2019? Here's What ABP News Opinion Poll Results Predict.

The main contest for the 288-member Maharashtra Assembly was between ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) -- which has allied with Uddhav Thackeray's Shiv Sena, and Sharad Pawar's Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) which contested the elections in alliance with Congress.

Along with Maharashtra, the state of Haryana went also went to polls on October 21. In both states, the pollsters had given the edge to the BJP. In Maharashtra, the BJP-Sena alliance was predicted to bag up to 205 out of the 288 constituencies, as per one of the opinion polls.

MLA CandidatesPartyVotes
JIVA PANDU GAVITCommunist Party of India (Marxist)NA
VIJAY UTTAM BHOYEBhartiya Tribal PartyNA