Karnataka Congress Expels 14 Ex-MLAs Days After Their Disqualification From Assembly
Dinesh Gundu Rao. File Image. (Photo Credits: ANI)

Bengaluru, July 30: The All India Congress Committee (AICC) on Tuesday approved the proposal received from Karnataka unit chief or Pradesh Congress Committee (PCC) head Dinesh Gundu Rao, to expel the 14 disqualified MLAs from the party. BS Yediyurappa Takes Oath as Karnataka Chief Minister For 4th Time.

The letter by the party mentions that the ex-MLAs have been expelled for the "anti-party activities" they engaged in. BS Yeddyurappa Will be Sworn in as Chief Minister of Karnataka Tomorrow, Governor Vajubhai Vala Finally Invites BJP!

Read the Tweet Below

Karnataka Assembly ex-speaker KR Ramesh Kumar on Sunday had disqualified with immediate effect 14 rebel MLAs, days after the Congress-JD(S) government collapsed after losing the confidence motion. This was in addition to the three dissident MLAs he had disqualified on July 25. After this, a total of 17 rebel MLAs from both parties were disqualified by the ex-Speaker.

All the disqualified MLAs cannot contest elections until the expiry of the term of the 15th Legislative Assembly. Out of the 14 MLAs, 11 of them are from Congress. The disqualified legislators include -- Pratap Gowda Patil, BC Patil, Shivanand Hebbar, ST Somashekar, Shrimant Patil, BA Basavaraja, Anand Singh, R Roshan Baig, Muniratna, K Sudhakar and MTB Nagaraj.

The Karnataka political drama in the assembly, which carried on for close to a week, finally saw the coming down off the HD Kumaraswamy government. BJP Karnataka chief BS Yediyurappa staked claim and took oath as the 31st chief minister of Karnataka.

This is the fourth time that Yediyurappa has become the chief minister of the state. He then proved his majority in the 208 seat assembly after the disqualified MLAs were ruled out from majority test. However, the BJP leader won the trust vote with 105 MLAs.