Karnataka Government Crisis: 21 Congress Ministers Resign, BJP Says 'We Have Nothing To Do With What's Happening'
Union Defence Minister Rajnath Singh and senior Congress leader Siddaramaiah. (Photo Credit: PTI/ANI)

Bengaluru, July 8: With the political chaos gripping the Congress-JDS coalition government in Karnataka and 13 MLAs resigning for their post, latest updates arrived that all 21 Karnataka Congress ministers have resigned on Monday. The report has been confirmed by Karnataka Congress Legislature Party leader Siddaramaiah himself. While BJP claims that they have 'nothing to do with what's happening'.

With the ruling coalition ministers resigning at the same time, the state government of Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy has lost the majority status in Karnataka. Earlier on Monday morning, all the 13 disgruntled MLAs were offered ministry posts but they had turned down the offer. Following this, both Janata Dal (Secular) and Congress sat down to save their 13-month-old coalition government. Karnataka Government Crisis: Congress-JDS Coalition Fears Losing Majority, Here's The Number Game

Meanwhile, JDS and Congress alleged BJP of horse trading in the state politics. To which Union Defence Minister Rajnath Singh quashed the allegations in Parliament. he said, "Our party has nothing to do with what is happening in Karnataka. Our party has never indulged in horse-trading."

Earlier, Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar scheduled to take up the resignations on Tuesday and gave the ruling government 48 hours timeline. If all 13 resignations are accepted, the Congress-JDS combine will lose the majority in the legislative assembly. Congress is also exploring to take legal action against the defiant MLAs.

The strength of the Karnataka assembly is 224. The Congress and the JDS together have 118 members along with one BSP and one Independent member. The magic number is 113, excluding the Speaker who casts his vote only in the event of a tie. If the 13 resignations are accepted, it will bring the coalition's numbers down to 105 and the majority mark in the assembly from 113 to 106. The BJP, which has 105 legislators, reportedly wants to reduce the total strength of the assembly to 207 in order to claim a simple majority in the House.