Ramanagaram District Election Results: JD(S) and Congress Bag One Seat Each, Counting Underway in Other Two Constituencies: Check Other Winning Candidates
Karnataka Election Results 2018: Find winners from all constituencies of Ramangram | File Image | (Photo Credits: PTI)

Bengaluru, May 15: The counting of votes for Karnataka Assembly elections 2018 were held on Tuesday amid tight security. The counting was held in nearly 40 counting centres, election office sources said. The Ramangram District includes ChannapatnaKanakapuraMagadiRamanagaram. Catch Updates of Karnataka Assembly Elections 2018 Here

In Channapatna constituency, H D Kumara Swamy of Janata Dal (Secular) is leading with  87995 votes. In Kanakapura, D K Shivakumar of the Indian National Congress is leading with 127552 vote while in Magadi, A. Manjunath of Janata Dal (Secular) has won the seat while counting is underway in Ramanagaram with H.D.Kumaraswamy of Janata Dal (Secular) leading with 92626 votes.

As per details by Election Commision of India, the state recorded voter turnout of 72.13 per cent, which is considered to be the highest-ever since 1952. There would be a neck and neck race between the state’s ruling Congress and challenger Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

Channapatna Election Results 2018 LIVE:

Kanakapura Election Results 2018 LIVE:

Magadi Election Results 2018 LIVE:

Ramanagaram Election Results 2018 LIVE:

Ramangram District Election Results 2018: 

  • HD Kumaraswamy leading over the Congress candidate by 1552 votes in Ramanagara

In Ramangram District, JD(S) emerged as a victorious party in Karnataka Assembly Elections 2013. Even this year in Karnataka Assembly Elections, the Janata Dal (Secular) is looking to establish itself once again in Karnataka politics and is expected to give a tough fight to both the BJP and the Congress.

The Congress losing Karnataka will weaken its claim for the leadership of a broader anti-BJP alliance that is being talked about. Meanwhile, the victory for the BJP will reflect the enduring charisma of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and his capacity to power his party to victory across the country.

Several exit polls have predicted a hung Assembly in the state and have said that former prime minister H D Deve Gowda’s JD(S) would play the role of the kingmaker. It must be noted that the Congress is trying to retain power in the face of a stiff challenge from the BJP in poll-bound Karnataka. It must be noted that the Janata Dal (Secular) will be hoping to get enough seats to do what it has done best in the past — punch above its weight.

Tight security is in place to ensure smooth and peaceful counting of votes across the 222 seats out of 224 assembly constituencies that is spread across 30 districts. People of Karnataka went to poll on May 12 in 58,546 polling stations, each equipped with Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) and Voter Verified Paper Audit Trails (VVPATs).