Maharashtra Mayor Elections 2019: Polls For 27 Mayoral Posts to be Held on November 22
Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (Photo Credits: PTI)

Mumbai, November 13: Elections to mayoral post in 27 municipal corporations across Maharashtra will be held on November 22. The elections were pending as the lottery deciding the reservation for the mayor’s post in 27 civic bodies was to be held. On Wednesday, the Ministry of Urban Development announced in which category the 27 mayor posts will fall. The results may be declared on November 22. Maharashtra Government Impasse: Cracks Appear in Congress Over Supporting 'Communal' Shiv Sena, Yashomati Thakur Says Party Ideology Must Be Protected.

Mayor post in Mumbai, Pune, Nagpur, Thane, Nashik, Kalyan-Dombivali, Sangli, and Ulhasnagar municipal corporations have been reserved for the Open category. Mayoral post in Navi Mumbai, Jalgaon, Bhivandi, Akola, Panvel, Pimpri-Chinchwad, Aurangabad, and Chandrapur have been reserved for the women in the Open category. The top post of Vasai-Virar and Mira Bhayandar are reserved for the Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes respectively. Sharad Pawar's Call to Sonia Gandhi Delays Maharashtra Political Rejig, Shiv Sena's Fate Hangs in Balance.

Mayor post of Ahmednagar and Parbhani municipal corporations will be reserved for the Scheduled Castes. Corporators from the Backward Class can become mayor of Latur and Dhule. Nanded, Solapur, Kolhapur, Malegaon's mayoral posts have been reserved for women from the Backward class. Due to the assembly elections, incumbent mayors and deputy mayors were given a three-month extension.

The extension period ends on November 22 which is when the elections for the posts of Mayor and Deputy Mayor will be held in the 27 municipalities. The polls assume significance following a fallout between the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Shiv Sena after the assembly elections.