Rajiv Gandhi Assassinators Release Row: MDMK, DMK Lay Seize to Tamil Nadu Raj Bhawan
MDMK chief Vaiko | Image: Twitter

Chennai, December 3: Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (MDMK) leader Vaiko along with its supporters on Monday lays seize outside the Tamil Nadu Raj Bhawan demanding the release of seven convicts of former Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi’s murder. Opposition party Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) has also lent its support for the cause, as hundreds of party supporters  are demonstrating outside the Raj Bhawan in Chennai.

Addressing the supporters, MDMK chief Vaiko launched a scathing attack against Tamil Nadu Governor Banwarilal Purohit from delaying the release of seven convicts of Rajiv Gandhi's murder. He accused the Governor of becoming a puppet in the hands of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and asked him to leave Raj Bhawan.

The protest comes after a couple of days Liberation Tigers of Tamil Eelam (LTTE) allegedly issued a statement stating that they had no role in the assassination of Rajiv Gandhi and had no intentions of conspiring or attacking India. The militant organisation had blamed Sri Lankan government for conspiring with the LTTE. LTTE Issues Statement on Rajiv Gandhi’s Murder, Denies Charge of Assassinating Former PM

In the alleged statement – dated 1-12-2018 and currently with the Tamil Nadu intelligence officials – LTTE had stated, “Sri Lankan government along with other countries conspired against and linked us to Rajiv's assassination.” The letter was released on LTTE's letter pad and signed by the group's political wing representative Kuruburan Guruswamy and legal wing representative Lathan Chandralingam.

With the report of the letter being leaked in public, the MDMK and DMK leaders are demanding the release of seven convicts in the Gandhi’s assassination case, killed during an election rally in Tamil Nadu's Sriperumbudur in May 1991.

All the seven convicts have already served 27 years in jail and the Tamil Nadu cabinet recommended that these people have already served 27 years in prison. The recommendation was made to the Governor Banwarilal Purohit under Article 161 of the Constitution.

The seven convicts are - T Suthendraraja, V. Sriharan, Robert Payas, AG Perarivalan, Jayakumar, Nalini and P Ravichandaran.