Shirur Lok Sabha Constituency in Maharashtra Results 2019: NCP Candidate Dr Amol Kolhe Elected as MP
Shirur Lok Sabha election 2019 (Photo Credits: File Image)

Mumbai, May 23: Shirur Lok Sabha seats witnessed a high-stakes electoral battle between the Shiv Sena and the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP). Polling for Lok Sabah election in Shirur parliamentary constituency was held on April 29 in the fourth phase of the general election. NCP's Dr Amol Kolhe was elected as Member of Parliament from Shirur. Shivajirao Adhalrao is the sitting Member of Parliament (MP) from the seat.

While Shivajirao Adhalrao has been renominated by the Shiv Sena, the NCP has fielded Marathi actor Dr Amol Kolhe. With Kolhe, NCP wants to wrest the seat from Adhalrao who was elected for the third consecutive term in 2014. The process of filing nomination for Shirur Lok Sabha election began from April 2. The last day for nominations was April 9. Maharashtra Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Dates: Constituency-Wise Complete Schedule Of Voting And Results For General Elections.

The last date for the withdrawal of the nominations was April 12. The NCP has formed an alliance with the Congress. The NCP will contest 20 seats, whereas Congress 24. On the other hand, the Shiv Sena and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) are contesting 23 and 25 seats respectively of the total 48 Lok Sabha constituencies in Maharashtra. Check Full Schedule of Lok Sabha Elections 2019.

Lok Sabha election 2019 schedule for phase four:

Issue of Notification April 2
Last date for filing nomination April 9
Scrutiny of nomination April 10
Last date for withdrawal of candidature April 12
Date Of Poll April 29
Date of Result May 23

In 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the alliance of the BJP, Shiv Sena and Swabhiman Paksha together registered a victory on 42 seats in Maharashtra. The Congress bagged two seats, while the NCP four. Lok Sabha election 2019 is being held in seven phases till May 19. The results will be declared on May 23.