Tumkur Lok Sabha Constituency in Karnataka Live Results 2019: BJP Candidate GS Basavaraj Elected MP
Tumkur Lok Sabha constituency (Photo Credits: File Photo)

Tumkur is one of the Lok Sabha constituency out of the 28 constituencies in the Indian state of Karnataka. Here the general election 2019 for this constituency will be held on April 18, 2019. The parliament constituency number of this constituency is 19. The results of the Tumkur Constituency will be declared today. The counting of votes began on the Parliamentary seat in Tumkur at 8 am on Thursday, May 23. Voting took place for the Tumkur seat in the second phase of Lok Sabha Elections 2019. A total voter turnout of 77.31 per cent was recorded, as per Election Commission of India. Stay with us for Live updates on the results for the Tumkur Lok Sabha seat in Karnataka. BJP Candidate GS Basavaraj Elected MP.  Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule: Voting In 7 Phases From April 11 to May 19, Counting And Results On May 23; Check All Dates For General Elections.

For the upcoming Lok Sabha Election 2019, BJP has nominated G S Basavaraju whereas Janata Dal-Secular, JD(S) has selected H D Deve Gowda to compete for General Election 2019. The Election Commission has declared March 26, 2019, as the last date of filing on nominations from the seats. The last date for withdrawal of candidature is March 29, 2019. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Phase II: List of States And Constituencies Voting On April 18.

Watch: Lok Sabha Phase II Polls Details

During 16th Lok Sabha Polls, S. P. Muddahanumegowda from Indian National Congress (INC) defeated G. S. Basavaraj from Bhartiya Janata Party(BJP). The other candidate who competed for this seat was A. Krishnappa from Janata Dal(Secular). The INC candidate won by a margin of 74,041 votes where he secured 4,29,868 votes.

The 17th Lok Sabha election will be held throughout India from April 11, 2019, and it will last till May 19, 2019. The polling will be done in 7 phases. The result for each phase will be declared on May 23, 2019.