Bettiah, the assembly constituency of Bihar based in West Champaran district, witnessed a keen contest between the Indian National Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). The seat was scheduled to go to polls in the second phase of elections, which was held on November 3. The results were be declared by the Election Commission on November 10. Renu Devi of the BJP was declared the winner.

Bettiah is among the 94 vidhan sabha segments that were contested in the second round of the elections. In the last assembly polls held in 2015, the seat was wrested from the BJP by Congress leader Madan Mohan Tiwari. With this victory, the Congress ended up claiming a constituency which the BJP was representing consecutively since 2000. Bihar Assembly Elections 2020 Phase 2 Dates And Schedule: Voting on November 3, Results to be Declared on November 10.

Schedule of Bihar Phase 2 Elections

Last Date For Filing Nomination  October 16
Scrutiny of Nominations  October 17
Last date for Nomination Withdrawal  October 19
Voting Date  November 3
Result Date  November 10

The Congress, a constituent of the Mahagathbandhan, was allowed to retain the seat by the grand alliance. The party reposed faith in sitting MLA Tiwari. From the NDA camp, the seat was allocated to the BJP. The party issued the ticket to former four-time MLA Renu Devi. The LJP had fielded sitting MLA Raju Tiwari.

The poll battle in Bihar was considered a close contest, despite the opinion polls ahead of the elections largely predicting a return for the JD(U)-BJP-led NDA government. The pre-poll surveys, while giving an edge to the ruling coalition, projected an anti-incumbency factor against Chief Minister Nitish Kumar.

MLA CandidatesPartyVotes
Sameer HasenIND981
Renu Devi (Current MLA)BJP84496
Savita Singh NepaliJan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik)677
Madan Mohan TiwariINC66417
Nand Lal PrasadApna Kisan Party610
Yuvraj Navin SinghBhartiya Panchyat Party546
Barkat AhmadJan Sangharsh Dal,425
Avkash Kumar GuptaThe Plurals Party1559
Parwez AlamNCP1192
Sitaram SahaniRashtriya mahan Gantantra Party1012

(The above story first appeared on LatestLY on Nov 16, 2020 01:30 AM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website