Udhampur Lok Sabha Constituency Result 2019 in Jammu and Kashmir: Dr Jitendra Singh of BJP Wins Parliamentary Election
Udhampur Lok Sabha Constituency (Photo Credits: File Image)

Lok Sabha Elections 2019: The counting of votes for the Udhampur Lok Sabha Constituency in Jammu and Kashmir began at 8 am on Thursday. The results of the Parliamentary seat were declared by Thursday, May 23 evening. Dr Jitendra Singh of the BJP won the seat with 724311 votes. Voting took place for the Udhampur seat in J&K in the second phase of Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on April 18.

The candidates for the 2019 poll on the Udhampur seat include Dr Jitendra Singh of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Tilak Raj Bhagat of the BSP and Vikramaditya Singh of the Congress. The last date of filing nomination on this seat was March 26. The last date for withdrawal of candidature was March 29. Polling for this seat will take place on April 18. Jammu And Kashmir Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Dates: Constituency-Wise Complete Schedule Of Voting And Results For General Elections.

While the seat was a stronghold of the Congress till 1995, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) began giving it a tough fight from 1996. In the Lok Sabha Elections 2014, BJP's Dr Jitendra Singh won from Udhampur, defeat senior Congress leader Ghulam Nabi Azad. Singh is the sitting MP from Udhampur.

The 2019 Lok Sabha Elections will take place across India between April 11 and May 23. While voting will take place for 543 Lok Sabha seats in seven phases between April 11 and May 19, the counting of votes will take place on May 23.