Urmila Matondkar Alleges Threat to Life After Scuffle Between Congress And BJP Workers
Congress leader Urmila Matondkar (Photo Credits: Twitter)

Mumbai, April 15: Congress leader Urmila Matondkar on Monday filed a complaint after workers of her party and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) clashed with each other. Accusing BJP supporters of violating the model code of conduct and attempting to create an atmosphere of fear, Urmila Matondkar said she lodged the complaint because she was feeling threatened.

A scuffle broke out between workers of the Congress and the BJP when Matondkar was campaigning in Mumbai North Lok Sabha constituency. While Congress workers chanted 'chowkidar chor hai' slogan, BJP supporters countered it by shouting 'Modi, Modi'. Following the brief confrontation between the two sides, Matondkar lodged a complaint. Mumbai North Lok Sabha Constituency in Maharashtra: Candidates, Current MP, Polling Date And Election Results 2019.

"It's being done to create fear. It's just beginning, it'll take a violent turn. I have asked for police protection; there's a threat to my life," Matondkar told news agency ANI. "Shocked at the blatant violation of code of conduct and hostile acts by BJP workers. I was constrained to lodge police complaint for my own safety and to save the dignity of my female supporters," she also tweeted.

Mumbai North Lok Sabha seat is currently represented by Gopal Shetty of the BJP, who defeated Congress’s Sanjay Nirupam in 2014 Lok Sabha polls. Gopal Shetty has been renominated by the BJP. Maharashtra Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Dates: Constituency-Wise Complete Schedule Of Voting And Results For General Elections.

Incidentally, Mumbai North, after Mumbai North-West (now Mumbai North-Central) represented by actor-turned-politician Sunil Dutt five times since 1984, is the second Lok Sabha constituency in the country's commercial capital which has elected a well-known film personality.

Bollywood here Govinda (Ahuja) had earned the title of 'giant-killer' in 2004 when - in a major upset - he trounced former Union Petroleum Minister Ram Naik, who is now the Governor of Uttar Pradesh, in the seat. In 2009, Naik had faced his second consecutive defeat, this time at the hands of the Congress's Sanjay Nirupam.