Wazirganj vidhan sabha segment was based in Gaya district of Bihar. The seat will go to polls on October 28, when the Election Commission has scheduled the first phase of assembly elections. The contest here was primarily between the Indian National Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). The Election Commission declared BJP's Birendra Singh as the winner.

Wazirganj, along with 70 other constituencies, was contested in the first round of elections on October 28. The assembly segment has thrown fluctuating results over the past decade, as the Congress and the BJP have been alternatively elected. In the last assembly elections, the winner from Wazirganj constituency was Awadhesh Kumar Singh of the Congress. Bihar Assembly Elections 2020 Phase 1 Dates And Schedule: Voting on October 28, Results to be Declared on November 10.

Schedule of Bihar Phase 1 Elections

Last Date For Filing Nomination  October 8
Scrutiny of Nominations  October 9
Last date for Nomination Withdrawal  October 12
Voting Date  October 28
Result Date  November 10

From the Mahagathbandhan, the Wazirganj seat was allotted to the Congress, which had won the seat in 2015. From the rival NDA camp, the BJP would be contesting. While the Congress candidate is Shashi Shekhar Singh, the BJP allotted the ticket to Birendra Singh.

The elections in Bihar was the first major electoral battle after the outbreak of COVID-19. The pre-poll surveys have given the edge to the JD(U)-BJP-led NDA camp, despite stating the possibility of an anti-incumbency factor against Chief Minister Nitish Kumar.

MLA CandidatesPartyVotes
Sanjay PrasadBharat Bhrashtachar Mitao Party985
Ram Vijay PaswanIND962
INDRAN PASWANPeoples Party of India (Democratic)778
JWALA MEHTABahujan Lok Dal753
Birendra Singh (Current MLA)BJP70713
Suman SauravPrabal Bharat Party677
Ram Prasad ManjhiJagrook Janta Party665
Dipak KumarBhartiya Rashtriya Dal498
Rajiv KumarJan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik)3722
Rajendra Kumar VermaIND3170
Ram bilash PrasadIND2428
Vandana SinghIND2123
Ranjay Kumar SinghIND1974
Shital Prasad YadavIND14173
CHITRANJAN KUMARBhartiya Sablog Party11162
Raju SawSankhyanupati Bhagidari Party1044
Shreedhar PrasadRLSPNA

(The above story first appeared on LatestLY on Nov 12, 2020 12:41 AM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website latestly.com).