West Bengal Assembly Bypoll Results 2019 Live Updates: Counting Underway in 8 Seats, Idris Ali Wins From Uluberia Purba Seat
West Bengal Assembly Bypoll Results 2019 (Photo Credits: File Photo)

Kolkata, May 23: The counting of votes for eight assembly seats in West Bengal began at 8 AM on Thursday, May 23. According to the trends released by the Election Commission of India(ECI), Idris Ali of the All India Trinamool Congress has won the Uluberia Purba Seat. In the remaining seven seats, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is leading in four seats, the All India Trinamool Congress is leading in 2, while the Congress party is leading in one.

Polling in Krishnaganj (SC) constituency was held on April 29 while in Uluberia Purba, where TMC has a significant edge, polling was held on May 6. Bypolls in the remaining five constituencies was held on May 19. The bypolls have been necessitated after the sitting MLAs resigned to contest the Lok Sabha polls. West Bengal Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Dates: Constituency-Wise Complete Schedule. The seven seats where polling was held are Islampur, Kandi, Habibpur (ST), Nowda, Bhatpara, Krishnaganj (SC) , Darjeeling, and Uluberia Purba. According to initial trends, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) was leading in four seats, the TMC was leading in three and Congress in one, as the first trends are released by the Election Commission of India (ECI).

The states where assembly elections were held along with Lok Sabha polls include Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Odisha and Sikkim. In West Bengal, polling for the parliamentary (Lok Sabha) constituencies of Darjeeling and Raiganj were held on April 18. Islampur assembly seat falls under Raiganj LS constituency.

The Kandi assembly segment is under Baharampur Lok Sabha constituency where polling will be held in the fourth phase on April 29. Habibpur falls under Malda Uttar parliamentary seat and Bhatpara under Barrackpore Lok Sabha constituency. These two seats will go to polls on April 23 and May 6 respectively. Mamata Banerjee Blames BJP For Communal Violence in West Bengal, Hits Out at Election Commission.

The 2019 Elections have been one of the most widely spread election schedules of seven phases in a span of 39 days. Majority of the surveys and analyses indicate a post poll scenario where the BJP and the NDA will be the largest single party and alliance respectively, but the NDA may fall short of the majority mark. The exit poll predictions for West Bengal, all the five poll results clearly indicated that the saffron party will be making inroads into Bengal politics.