Worli Vidhan Sabha Constituency Election Result 2019 in Maharashtra: Aaditya Thackeray of Shiv Sena Wins MLA Seat in Assembly Polls
Worli Assembly Elections 2019. (Photo Credits: File)

Mumbai, October 24: Shiv Sena leader Uddhav Thackeray's son Aaditya Thackeray has emerged victorious from the high-profile Worli seat with over 50,000 votes. Thackeray, who represents Shiv Sena, was fielded against Advocate Dr Suresh Mane of Nationalist Congress Party (NCP). Aaditya Thackeray is the only member from the Thackeray family to contest in Assembly polls, and has won the seat with over a satisfying margin. According to details by the Election Commission of India (ECI), Thackeray managed to bag over 69, 500 votes in the Maharashtra Assembly elections 2019. Over 4,000 voters cast their vote to NOTA.

The counting of votes for the Worli seat was held on Thursday along with other constituencies of the state. Polling for the Worli Assembly seat in Maharashtra was held on October 21 along with the other 287 seats. Maharashtra Assembly Elections 2019 Results Live News Updates: Aaditya Thackeray Wins Worli Assembly Segment.

Maharashtra, the biggest state in Western India, is considered one of the politically most crucial provinces in the country. The state witnessed a saffron surge in 2014, 15 years after being ruled under a coalition regime led by Congress-Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) combine. Maharashtra also houses the mega city of Mumbai -- considered to be the financial capital of the nation. Who Will Win Maharashtra Assembly Elections 2019? Here's What ABP News Opinion Poll Results Predict.

The new government in Maharashtra should be formed before November 9 because the current assembly expires on that day. Pollsters are of the opinion that the incumbent ruling alliance of Shiv Sena-BJP would return to power with a resounding mandate.

The main contest for the 288-member Maharashtra Assembly is between ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) -- which has allied with Uddhav Thackeray's Shiv Sena, and Sharad Pawar's Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) which is contesting the elections in alliance with Indian National Congress. In 2014 Maharashtra Assembly Elections, BJP secured 122 seats, while Shiv Sena clinched 63 seats. NCP managed to win 42 seats, and Congress could secure only 41 seats. Both Bahujan Vikas Aaghadi, and Peasants and Workers Party of India won 3 seats. Asaduddin Owaisi's All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) won 2 seats, while Bharipa Bahujan Mahasangh clinched one seat.

According to the census 2011, Maharashtra's total population was 11.24 crores, which is expected to rise to 12.35 crores in 2019. The population of females in 2011 was 5.41 crores, while the male population was 5.82 crores. Considerably, Maharashtra forms 9.28 percent of India's total percentage. The average literacy rate of the state is 82.34 percent, while the female to male ratio (Census 2011) is 929.

MLA CandidatesPartyVotes
Aaditya Uddhav ThackeraySHS89248
Adv. Rupesh Lilachandra TurbhekarIND829
Abhijit Wamanrao BichukaleIND781
Gautam Anna GaikwadVBA6572
Mangal Pranjeevan RajgorIND247
Mahesh Popat KhandekarIND236
Adv. (Dr.) Suresh ManeNCP21821
Vishram Tida PadamBSP1932
Adv. Vijay Janardhan ShiktodeIND193
Milind KambleIND191
Nitin Vishwas GaikwadIND160
Pratap Baburao Hawaldar (Desai)Prahar Janshakti PartyNA
Bansode Santosh KisanBharatiya Minorities Suraksha MahasanghNA