Asian Para Games 2018 Medal Winners Felicitated By PM Narendra Modi (See Pictures)
PM Narendra Modi facilitated medal winners of Asian Para Games 2018 (Photo Ctredits: ANI)

New Delhi, October 16: Prime Minister Narendra Modi today met and felicitated the medal winners of the Asian Para Games 2018 held in Jakarta. The Prime Minister also expressed appreciation for the coaches of the medal winners. The Indian contingent has put on a grand show at the 2018 Asian Para Games. India won 72 medals in total, in which they have won 15 Gold, 24 Silver, and 33 Bronze medals. India was placed at ninth spot in the games.

Bronze medallist Deepa Malik and Suhas Yathiraj appreciated the PM for encouraging para-athletes. While speaking to ANI, Malik said, "There can be no better encouragement than PM making time for us 70 medalists soon after our arrival".

China topped the medal tally followed by South Korea on the second spot and Iran with 136 medals managed to gain the third spot. Earlier at the 3rd Asian Games, Deepa Malik had won a Bronze Medal in Women's Discus Throw. Gurlal Singh won in Men's C4 Individual Pursuit event too. In Badminton, Nagar Krishna, Mansi Joshi, and Manoj Sarkar won Bronze Medals in respective Singles categories.

The multi-sport event sees athletes (with a disability) from the Asian continent participate in several sports’ disciplines. The Asian Para Games was held between October 6 and 13. A total of 43 nations participated in 531 sporting events in 18 sports. The Indian contingent competed in 13 sports. In these games, India sent the largest contingent. At the previous Asian Para Games (in 2014), India had won a total of 33 medals, in which they won 3 Gold, 14 Silver, and 16 Bronze medals.