ICC Cricket World Cup 2019: Meet the Winning Captains Of The Tournament Over The Years
MS Dhoni lifted the World Cup Trophy in 2011 Edition (Photo Credits: Getty Images)

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 is just a fortnight away and the teams like Australia, New Zealand, and Afghanistan have started prepping up for the mega-event. Considering the fact that the IPL 2019 is just concluded, the Indian players are taking time off and enjoying their break with their near and dear ones. The players will soon begin their preparations for the World Cup. Ahead of the mega-event, let’s have a look at the list of captains who walked away with the coveted trophy over the years. ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 Schedule in PDF: Ticket Prices, Dates, Venue Details & Timetable Available for Download Online.

Clive Lloyd -1975, 1979

The former West Indies captain led the team for a couple of World Cups -1975 and 1979. That was the time when West Indies cricket was at its peak with greats like Vanburn Holder, Roy Fredericks, Alvin Kallicharran and many others. The team won the first World Cup after defeating Australia by 17 runs. in 1979, Clive Llyod’s team defeated England by 92 runs with the combined heroics of Viv Richards, Collis King and Joel Garner to win their 2nd consecutive World Cup.

Kapil Dev -1983

Now, whether you were born in 1983 or not, the visual of Kapil Dev lifting the World Cup in England obviously would be seen by all of us. India who was the underdog at the start of the tournament not only went to reach the finals of the 1983 World Cup but also tattered the mighty West Indian batting line-up as Kapil Dev and men posted a total of 183. In reply, the West Indians were bundled out on 140 runs.

Allan Border- 1987

This tournament was quite big for the people in the sub-continent as it was the first time that a mega-event was held in India and Pakistan. Both the hosts were definitely not the hot favourites. It was Australia led by Allan Border who won the World Cup 1987. The team went on to defeat England by seven runs to clinch the glory for the first time.

Imran Khan- 1992

The fifth edition of the ICC Cricket World Cup was held in Australia and New Zealand. It was Pakistan who walked away with the glory this time with Imran Khan handling the reins of the team. Pakistan went on to beat England by 22 runs were crowned champions for the first time.

Arjun Ranatunga- 1996

This time it was another team from the sub-continent that won the ICC Cricket World Cup. Hosted by India and Pakistan, Sri Lanka’s aggressive approach, smart fielding tactics with a powerful batting seemed to have worked for the team. The finals played in the background of the arch rivalry between Arjun Ranatunga and Australia’s Shane Warne. Sri Lanka went on to beat Australia by seven wickets.

Steve Waugh-1999

Australians continued to dominate the seventh edition of the World Cup 1999. The team played against Pakistan in 1999 and Steve Waugh and team went on to register a comprehensive victory as they chased a paltry total of 132 runs. The mega-event was held in England.

Rick Ponting-2003. 2007

Like Clive Lloyd, Ricky Ponting went on to be the most successful captain of Australia leading the team in the two World Cups in 2003 and 2007. In 2003, Ricky Ponting and men defeated India in South Africa by 125 runs as they posted a total of 359 runs. in 2007, Australia won their fourth title by defeating Sri Lanka by 53 runs.

MS Dhoni- 2011

Team India lifted the World Cup 2011 as they went on to defeat Sri Lanka at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. India registered a six-wicket victory as MS Dhoni hit the last winning shot of the match.

Michael Clarke -2015

Australia won the ICC World Cup 2015 for the fifth time as Michael Clarke went on to get the glory back home. The team played against New Zealand by seven wickets. James Faulkner was adjudged the Man of the Match for snapping three wickets giving away 36 runs.