India's Playing XI Against Australia for 2018 Boxing Day Test: Mayank Agarwal to Debut, Ravindra Jadeja and Rohit Sharma Surprise Inclusions
File Image | Indian Test Team | (Photo Credits: Twitter @BCCI)

Stop the press, Ravindra Jadeja is all set to play third India vs Australia Test match at the Melbourne Cricket Ground, starting December 26. A lot was said about his fitness and how skipper Virat Kohli, India coach Ravi Shastri, and Saurashtra coach Sitanshu Kotak gave contradictory statements. Also, Mayank Agarwal is set for his India debut in the crucial Boxing Day Test. The Curious Case of ‘Injured’ Ravindra Jadeja: Here’s How Ravi Shastri & Co. Stoked the Controversy.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced the playing XI ahead of the third Test match against Australia. Breaking away from the tradition of naming the first-choice 12-member squad, the BCCI has put out a list of 11 players, who will take the field on Wednesday. Virat Kohli vs Tim Paine: Australia Skipper Enjoying Heated Exchange, Predicts Intense 'Hard' Cricket Against India in Boxing Day Test.

India’s Team for 3rd Test against Australia: Virat Kohli (c), Ajinkya Rahane (vc), Mayank Agarwal, Hanuma Vihari, Cheteshwar Pujara, Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, and Jasprit Bumrah

Surprisingly, both KL Rahul and Murali Vijay have been dropped from the squad, and it is Rohit Sharma who has been given another chance in the Indian team. No R Ashwin in the team means that Jadeja will be the sole spinner in the team, with Vihari playing the part-timer’s role. Anil Kumble Picks Mayank Agarwal and Hanuma Vihari As Openers for India Team Ahead Boxing Day Test Against Australia: Read His First XI Here.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar is still kept out of the team, and the pace attack will comprise of Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, and Jasprit Bumrah. It will be interesting to see how the bowlers perform in the crucial game. Stay tuned for the latest updates about India vs Australia Test Series 2018-19!