Regarded by many as one of the best players of his generation, former Indian skipper MS Dhoni celebrates his 40th birthday today (July 07, 2021). The Ranchi-born cricketer remains one of the most successful captains not only in Indian but in world cricket history. Though now retired from International cricket, MS Dhoni still leads Chennai Super Kings in IPL and on his birthday, we take a look at some records held by him. MS Dhoni Birthday Special: Three MSD Captaincy Records Which Will Be Tough to Break for Virat Kohli and Future Indian Skippers.

Born in Ranchi, Bihar, MS Dhoni played for India in 90 Tests, 350 ODIs and 98 T20Is, captaining the national team in all three formats, leading then to World Cup triumphs first in the 20-over format in 2007 and then in the 50-over format in 2011. The Ranchi cricketer also has a great record in IPL, leading his Chennai Super Kings outfit to three titles, the second most in competition history. MS Dhoni Birthday Special: Revisiting India’s 2007 T20 World Cup Title Win Under 'Captain Cool'.

3 Records Held By MS Dhoni in Cricket

Most Stumpings By A Wicket-Keeper in ODIs

The former Indian wicket-keeper was sensational behind the stumps as his speed, agility and quick-thinking separated him from the others. MS Dhoni has 123 stumpings – the only player with over 100 – to his name in the ODIs, the most of any cricketer. Dhoni has also taken 383 catches behind the wicket, taking his dismissal account to 482 in the 50-over format, the most of any Indian and second overall.

Most Wins As Captain In IPL

MS Dhoni is regarded as one of the best leaders in the history of the game and his record justifies that tag. The Ranchi cricketer is the longest-serving captain in IPL and has won the most games as a skipper, winning 114 games in the competition, with no other player reaching the three-figure mark yet.

Most ICC Tournaments Win As Captain

Winning a major tournament is a big deal for any cricketer but MS Dhoni exceeds anyone prior to him in this department as he is the only captain in the game’s history to win three major ICC tournaments. The Ranchi cricketer led India to T20 World Cup in 2007, World Cup in 2011 and the Champions Trophy in 2013.

(The above story first appeared on LatestLY on Jul 07, 2021 09:09 AM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website