Rajat Sharma of IndiaTV Elected as DDCA President, Rakesh Kumar Bansal Vice President
Rajat Sharma (Image Credit: Facebook/Rajat Sharma)

New Delhi, July 2: IndiaTV Chairman and Editor-in-Chief Rajat Sharma was on Monday elected as the President of the Delhi and District Cricket Association (DDCA). Sharma got 54.40 per cent votes in his favour. Rakesh Kumar Bansal has been elected as the Vice President with 48.87 per cent votes in his favour.

Voting for the DDCA Elections took place from June 27 to 29 at Pallika Bhawan while the election process ended on June 30 at Ferozeshah Kotla Ground.

A total of 2791 votes were cast in the DDCA polls while 3500 members were nominated for voting. Former cricketer Madan Lal and advocate Vikas Singh were the other candidates in the fray for the President's post.

Singh, a senior advocate in Supreme Court, had reportedly written a complaint letter to the Returning Officer alleging that Sharma "was sitting inside the voting area and influencing the voters and accompanying the voters to cast their votes".

Among those who cast their votes were Virender Sehwag, Kirti Azad, Bishan Singh Bedi, Gautam Gambhir, Manoj Prabhakar and other eminent cricketing names.

DDCA is the first cricket body to have gone to polls after the Lodha committee's recommendations were implemented. The voters had to be present at the time of voting, thereby, ending the proxy voting practice.